Throttle return and Choke valve issue - Chevelle Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

1Likes
  • 1 Post By Schurkey

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old Apr 21st, 19, 9:19 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Paul

Throttle return and Choke valve issue

Need a little help I am new to carbs and I am for sure having an issue with throttle return and I might have an issue with my choke valve. First the throttle return.

Yesterday when I was driving I got a little heavy on the gas I think I heard a pop and when I let up off the gas the throttle wouldn't return to zero unless I got my foot under the pedal unless I pulled up on it with my foot. Thought maybe the throttle return spring broke but when I got home and got the air cleaner off it was there and looked fine (If a little sketchy, see pic. I am not sure but I don't think it should just be on a bolt like that.) but still have the issue with the throttle not completely closing. I put a heavier spring on it and it working correctly right now but something is still bothering me about it. Is there another spring some where in the throttle line/linkage I am missing.

Second while looking at the Throttle issue I noticed that it is not possible for the choke valve to completely close. it seems like the little arm on the electric choke is hitting structure on the carb and not letting it close completely any one else have this issue? its a Holly 80457 7.

and from the look of the oil on my intake it looks like a compression check might need to be in my future.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Carb 3.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	101.8 KB
ID:	592008   Click image for larger version

Name:	Carb2.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	96.9 KB
ID:	592010   Click image for larger version

Name:	Carb 4.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	120.6 KB
ID:	592012  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old Apr 27th, 19, 3:15 AM
Gold Founding Member