Body Shop Paint & Body Forum

1Likes
  • 1 Post By Raven1

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Mar 22nd, 20, 4:37 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team
wayne

what to put between panels

I have a 1967 Malibu and have removed the deck filler panel to fix rust issues. the factory put tar paper between the panels so as not to rattle. what are you guys putting back in for that? I have also removed the passenger side quarter. how are you guys separating the metal at the rain gutter? I am putting on full quarters and that part is kicking my behind. thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Mar 26th, 20, 8:15 AM
Kevin

Re: what to put between panels

I should probably preface by saying I'm not a professional body work person so if anyone else chimes in I would listen to their advice over mine.

I bought Dynomat to go between the filler panel and the package tray. I tossed the box so I don't have the part number but it is about the same thickness as the original and is adhesive on one side.

I thought I saw some original tar paper type at one of the parts suppliers. Maybe NPD or OPG.

My 67 had a replacement quarter installed previously installed when I dove into the replacement so I'm not sure how a stock quarter is actually held in place.

On my car the quarter was spot welded to the drip rail so I just drilled out the spot welds. I will have to repair/replace the drip rail.

Where the quarter panel, roof, and drip rail come together it was brazed so I just cut out around the braze then took a flap disk to that.

The part that got me was the quarter was sandwiched between two other pieces of metal in behind the roof. Last picture shows the welds that had to be drilled out from inside and outside to the get the quarter panel off. The picture is looking up from the bottom to behind the roof.

Not sure this helps you.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version