3Likes
  • 2 Post By Bart_Swisher
  • 1 Post By Bart_Swisher

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old Oct 9th, 19, 4:16 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Stan

Epoxy Primer vs 2K for final layer

Is there any good reasoning to support using epoxy for the final prime instead of 2K? I've got the car through several applications of 2K, long boarding, and repeat, and repeat. Even though I feel its really good right now and I've blocked it wet with 800, I'm considering one more 2K, longboarding with 400, then 800 before the booth. It was suggested I use epoxy for this last coat since it sprays more even than 2K, its a good sealer under the paint, and it sands wet and dry as good as or better than 2K. Any experience welcome.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old Oct 9th, 19, 4:49 PM
Tech Team
Dan

Re: Epoxy Primer vs 2K for final layer

I'm no expert, but from my understanding is that epoxy as a final seal coat is good when you are painting over different layers of paint to get a good seal before your basecoat to prevent issues. Keep in mind that a reduced epoxy seal coat should not be sanded and used after all of your block sanding of the 2K is complete. After it's applied, you should just apply the base coat within the specifications of the epoxy. Are you using epoxy as the first coat direct to metal, or are you working over the original paint? If you are already protected underneath with epoxy, then you probably will be fine without the seal coat.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old Oct 9th, 19, 4:50 PM
Tech Team
Cody

Not all brands of epoxy primer sand well, keep that in mind.