14Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old Sep 23rd, 19, 10:25 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Matt

Garage
Send a message via AIM to Nazarah
How bad of an idea is this?

Let me start this off by saying I have little to no experience with body work, so if I should hard pass here just say so and I won't be hurt

I have a 70 SS that is gold with black stripes, and a vinyl top. At some point in time (probably years from now) I want to have the car painted. At that time, the vinyl top has to go. I know some people love them, it's just not my style.

I've kicked around the idea of having the car wrapped in the color that I'm considering, just to make sure I'm 100% ready and willing to invest in a nice paint job that color when the time comes. How bad of an idea would it be to remove the vinyl top, and put some primer there before wrapping so that the top could be wrapped as well? I do realize that when the vinyl comes off, rust will probably show up underneath. Not sure what if anything can be done as a temporary solution there either until I'm really ready for the body and paint work.

Never stop learning!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old Sep 23rd, 19, 10:43 AM
Tech Team
Jared

Re: How bad of an idea is this?

Rip it off and if seal any metal with epoxy. It will be protected till you can get to the body work. There might even be paint underneath which could be a good foundation but I'm not sure since ive never removed one before.

Sent from my LM-G710 using Tapatalk
post #3 of 35 (permalink) Old Sep 23rd, 19, 1:01 PM
Senior Tech Team
Eric

The car wrap can be almost expensive as paint.

Your just jealous because you can't hear the voices!

1967 Olds Cutlass 468 BBC/T400
1963 Plymouth Fury 440/Torqueflite
2007 Ford Mustang GT (momma's car)

post #4 of 35 (permalink) Old Sep 23rd, 19, 1:31 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Matt

Garage

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldcutlass View Post