Chevelle Tech join team chevelle as a supporting member  
Chevelle Parts at SS396.com      
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Chevelle
     

Auto Insurance

Chevelles.com is the premier Chevrolet Chevelle Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Family
cheyteam_link.jpg - 1811 Bytes
camaro_link.jpg - 2815 Bytes
chevelle_link.jpg - 3062 Bytes
impala_link.jpg - 3140 Bytes
nova_link.jpg - 2412 Bytes
Team Chevelle Sponsors
Random Products - Parts Vendors
Gene\\\'s General Store Goodmark Industries Supplier
Marci

Most Viewed
Tremec Transmissions... 42,212
Goodmark Goodmark Ch... 32,193
Diamond Back Classic... 32,059
Cars & Parts Magazin... 31,876
How to Custom Paint ... 31,252
ACC Molded Carpet 31,222
Pinstriping Masters ... 30,846
Automotive Cheap Tri... 30,798
Jim Schild Original ... 29,114
Advanced Custom Pain... 28,025
1969 Chevelle Dash ... 27,745
Dale McIntosh 1967 C... 27,196
Howard's Backyard Au... 26,535
Ultimate Sheet Metal... 26,294
Advanced Sheet Metal... 26,243

 
Home » Suppliers » Parts Vendors  

Ground Up Ground Up
Reviews Views Date of last review
22 23857
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
59% of reviewers $1,650.00 4.0
years.gif


Description: Restoration Parts


Author
Post A Reply 
Neal Wright
Senior Tech Team

Registered: October 2000
Location: IN / OH border
Posts: 1199
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Common source for high quality items
Cons: Poors sales staff, poor internet store, incomprehinsible shipping policy

Summary … no I wasn’t pleased by service. Rude sales person and un-comprehensible shipping cost. Explanation below:

Placed order #45918 online on 7/15/08. Chose Ground Up because of their association with TC, and stocking both Metro SuperSoft & PUI WeatherFelts.

First trouble is their online store is horrible. I wanted to add a door hinge roller detent kit. Had their catalog and item p/n in front of me. I searched everyway I could find (part number, description, category) and no way could I get this part. Ended up ordering detent kit from NPD. Prices in general were fair on other items though.

The real trouble came (I think, I’m still confused) in their shipping policy. I knew when ordering it was a bad sign that the same page that advertised free standard shipping on orders over $250 … also had a standard shipping estimation chart (http://www.ss396.com/shipping_costs.htm), showing:

Orders $200-$300, $32.95
Orders $300-$400, $36.95
Orders $400-$500, $42.95 (it keeps going).

I proceeded, figuring that at the end of the transaction … they would have to confirm my final credit card payment amount. At the end of the online shopping, I get the sum of my parts total ($250.45) … A line “Shipping: *Shipping Charges Not Included: $0.00” … A line “Sales Tax: $0.00” … A line “Total: $250.45”. I agree to this, as this was the sum of parts total with what I thought was showing Free Shipping.

On 7/16, I receive an e-mail confirmation showing the same.

Night 7/16, I try balancing my checkbook to find card has been debited for $265. I reply-back my previous e-mail confirmation on 7/17. Understand that the $15, I’d write off … but have a real issue with my credit card being charged an arbitrary number I didn’t agree to.

On 7/17, I also call (since rumors have been of slow responses). Guy who picks up isn’t nice:-) Explains that my shopping total was actually $242, and that my card was charged $23 shipping. I inquired about the $250.45 total, and which parts weren’t ordered? Sales guy explains that I wouldn’t have been eligible for Free Shipping anyhow since WindowFelt kits ship oversize … and catalog does not designate WindowFelts oversize (nor does any other vender’s catalog). But he insisted order was out, and I was going to get billed $265.

That night, when I got home … got my notes in front of me, and called again. This time I spoke with Mike, who was extremely nice!!! Mike explains that my shopping total is now $240 (?) … we read off the list of items, and everything is on there. He will credit my card to reflect Free Shipping and $240 total bill.

On 7/18, I receive a response to my e-mail on 7/17 … that my credit card will now be billed the original $250.45. I’m thinking Mike, and whoever sent the e-mail response haven’t communicated … but I’m absolutely great with a $250.45 total.

So, now … I’ll give it another week and see how much my credit card is billed, as after the past few days I don’t think I know? I applaud Mike; he was excellent to deal with. The first guy was an absolute jerk, and the shipping policy is way overpriced, and completely un-comprehensible. The details are too long to go into my first experience with Ground Up (but they follow a similar trend) … at that time, the excuses were moving to a new facility (5-6yrs ago). Second experience with them now, and I’m done.

Thanks, Neal
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
trmnatr
Banned

Registered: November 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10048
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great parts supply. Quality parts and no junk
Cons: Have not found one yet

They have always provided me with great products and great service. They have went out of their way for me a few times. I like the salesmen i met the first time, Ken and Dave {Doc}. Ken is the owner. I have never spoke to anyone else as the salesmen i deal with are A+

They are very stand up also, They donated some parts to help out with Jimmyp's car who recently passed

http://www.chevelles.com/forums/showthread.php?t=242235

------------------------------
1970 Chevelle, 331cid
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Racing
Lifetime Premium Member

Registered: November 2005
Location: SW Kansas
Posts: 3703
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Never had an item backordered, I got what I expected
Cons: Online ordering not as good a phone ordering

Salesmen were always helpful and answered my question in detail. On the first order I mentioned being a TC member and received discounts. Subsequent orders salesperson mentioned being a TC member before I did and applied appropriate discounts.

------------------------------
Dan

Dan's 70 Chevelle
Spencer's 72 Chevelle
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
SixActual
Lifetime Premium Member

Registered: February 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3089
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Decent products and fast delivery
Cons: Very poor and rude salesmanship

Except for one time, everytime I call it seems that the salesperson is annoyed at me for calling, and they rush through my order never taking the time to treat me as a customer.

I provide the part number and they never respond with the name of the part. All they say is "Next," and at the end of the call they never tell me the total cost of my order, so I always have to ask.

In one instance, at the beginning of the call I informed the salesman I was a TC member, but he never once asked me for my member number, nor did I recieve the member discount. As I mentioned above, he was just another person who just wanted to take my order and get off the phone as soon possible.

------------------------------
TC# 4437
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
rcr81

Registered: August 2008
Location: ohio
Posts: 10
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Fast shipping
Cons: poor customer service

I placed my first order with them because they sponsor this site, shipping was fast products were ok ( ordered a console kit wasnt real happy with that but they just resell them so I cant hold that against them I guess ) but where the problems come in is with the shifter install kit. It had the wrong reverse arm in the kit, now that isnt thier fault either however the process to return and get credit for it was. I called them and tried to get an exchange for the reverse arm but no I had to send the whole kit back, well I had just spent about 4 hrs installing this thing ( my first shifter install give me some slack ) and I really didnt feel like taking it all back off and starting over when the new one came. So the alternative was to buy a new shifter kit and take out the reverse arm and put the bad one in that and return it. That has cost me about 30 bucks in shipping so far but the real problem is it's been a month since this happened and I still dont have my refund, everytime I call the girl that handles returns is unavailable, I was told 2 weeks ago my refund was due to be taken care of in 2 days...nothing. I was ok with everything up untill this happened now I would hate to buy anything else from them in case there is an issue cause you cant return it.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
brooksman9
Tech Team

Registered: January 2009
Location: Olive Branch, MS
Posts: 61
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros:
Cons:

My initial Ground Up experience was one of indecision. I recently ordered a power disc conversion kit and a complete front suspension rebuild package. As stated above, shiping was outragous. $150 for all the above. What was not clear in their adds was that you need the corresponding brake line kit for it all to match up. So another week of waiting for that to ship. They were kind enough to let me have it at the discounted price as if I had purchased it along with the brake kit. When the kit arrived it contained one incorrect piece. Had to wait another week for it to be shipped from their supplier. Finally got all pieces and installed. Works fine.

Last week I ordered a few small items one of which was a 3 port manifold fitting. When my order arrived it had a 1 port threaded fitting. I called Ground Up and stated I had recieved the wrong item. Gentleman said, Let me talk to the salesman. Came back on the line and told me, No, that is what you ordered. I exclaimed that it was not what I ordered and not what I needed, What do I need to do to get the correct fitting from you since you did not send me what I ordered. He told me he would sell me the new item and I could send the other one back. In my opinion this was poor customer service over a piddly $15 dollar item to a customer whom had recently spent over a thousand dollars with their company. I told him to forget it I'd buy it somehwere else. I have a 1970 Chevelle and a 1977 Camaro both needing lots of restoration parts, none of which will be coming from Ground Up and their piss poor service and don't give a damn attitudes you get from their phone sales department. Those are two catalogs that are going straight in the trash. I do not recomend this company. I'd rather pay a little more for better service.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
normie
Tech Team

Registered: April 2001
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 783
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $2,000.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: They do have a lot of stuff, and it is reasonably priced
Cons: Attitude, Shipping, Returns, everything else but their product

In July I made a pretty sizable purchase from Ground-Up. I ordered ~2k worth of stuff for my project. A few items were "not in stock" so they put a hold on my CC, and waited for all of the items to trickle in and ship as one big package "truck freight". No big deal, I've waited this long.. Items have to come to a commercial address since it is truck freight, No problem and tell Mike M. I am open tues-sat 9 to 6 so schedule delivery for one of my open days.

Now my woes begin about two weeks later. First Ground Up calls me and tell me my CC was declined, always a possibility, I call my company to check. Money is there, their hold has to be released by ground Up, and recharge or they can just call VISA and change from hold to charge, but Ground Up has to do it as the vendor who placed the charge. The CC rep gave me the number for the vendor to call and the code to release the hold. Pretty simple and he says it would take only a few minutes.

So I call Ground Up and explain what the CC company told me, "We don't call anyone" the guy says, we'll just wait till the hold clears (in a week). At that point I'm still OK with waiting for my parts so whatever.

A week goes by, I get a UPS Freight truck for delivery, dropped off the stuff and went on his way.

I check my parts, they are all pretty good, maybe some shipping rash on the full floor pan, but it's kind of hidden on the rocker when assembled, so I'm satisfied.

Flash forward a month later, and I get a bill from UPS for re-delivery. Confused I call UPS and ask em whats up? They say that the shipper scheduled for a Monday delivery, we were closed, so they had to charge for a re-delivery on Tuesday.

So I call Ground Up (David J.) and ask about the charge and why the item was scheduled for a monday when I informed Mike of my shop hours/days. I also covered some extra parts that weren't needed because they were already installed on the full floor pan, the person on the phone was pretty cool, "fax over the bill and your notes on this and we'll take care of the extra charge!". I send the fax over, and forget all about it..

The following month, I get a past due bill, call Ground Up to see whats up, left a voice mail (David J.) and re-faxed the bill. No word..

I get another bill this month, I call again, the original guy I spoke with is out on vacation, so I ask the person if he can help and tell him the situation. he puts me on hold to "talk with a supervisor" and comes back and rudely states, thats the freight company's delivery charge, we have nothing to do with that and won't cover the charge!

So now I am almost three months overdue on a UPS bill that I could have paid had the vendor not told me they would take care of it. And I am pretty mad about being treated un-customer service friendly for THREE (almost 4) months with no resolution or communication. Added to the shipping issues that the sales people don't know what is included in the parts they sell, a lackluster description in their catalog and website and an overall "unfriendly" reception to TC members makes this vendor a last resort.

------------------------------
My website is now up and running!

X-Ray View of my Chevelle
Getting Closer
my baby in primer
Frame rebuilding
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit normie's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Chris R
Lifetime Premium Member

Registered: September 1998
Location: Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
Posts: 17583
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I had a problem with Ground Up about 10 years ago. So they havent been all that great since I see. Ordered a turn signal switch from them which they claimed was in stock via the phone. Waited well over a week or so and nothing showed. Called and they said its not in production at the moment and no idea when they will ever see anything. No call or anything. I canceled the order and was forced to go with the next competitor price wise, which ended up costing over 100 dollars more. Thats enough to put a bad taste in my mouth and never ordered anything from them again and have no plans to do so in the future.

------------------------------
Chris.

When the Boogeyman goes to bed, he checks the closet for Chuck Norris.

If it aint broke, just give me a minute.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Molly's 70
Lifetime Premium Member

Registered: January 2010
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 714
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: All parts have been excellent
Cons: none

I have purchased several parts from ground up over the last 2 years or so & have been very happy. The drum to disk 4 wheel conversion kit is great. I also purchased parts to rebuild the entire suspension. Rally wheels & many other small parts have all worked out just fine. Shipping times were normal & they told me if something was not in stock. The staff has always been able to assist me with whatever I have needed. Out of all the parts I have ordered, only 1 took 30 days to get & they told me that upfront. I buy most all my parts here now as I like the price & the parts are good.

------------------------------
If you lend someone $20, and never see that person again, it was probably worth it.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Molly's 70's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Jc71ss
Tech Team

Registered: July 2009
Location: Mass
Posts: 47
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: good parts
Cons: backorders seem slow

ive never had the problems with ground up as everyone else has seemed to have, but living close to the warhouse i can just make the hour drive to save on shipping and have my parts the same day. As for back orders i bought a new dash and tach dash gauge setup about 2-2 1/2 months ago and got everything but the speedo and a wiring harness i bought. i have now receved everything but the speedo how long can it take to make a gauge
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
mbbeard21
Tech Team

Registered: October 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 51
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Items I actually received were what I ordered.
Cons: Everything else...including the items not received.

I will never use GroundUp again. If you want a good experience, look to NPD or YearOne. Believe me it is worth the extra few bucks to streamline the process and save the headache.
Last time I used Groundup was the last straw. I ordered just a couple small parts ($20 worth). 3 wks later I contacted them, only to find that they had forgotten to physically put the order in. Finally they put it in (and charged me $10 shipping on parts that could fit into a large envelope). When they arrived, parts were still missing. I called AGAIN, and apparently whoever put the order in had not physically ordered all the parts on the list. So I'm still waiting....and waiting...waiting...

------------------------------
70 Chevelle SS
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
64vert
Tech Team

Registered: February 2007
Location: Shorewood, IL
Posts: 36
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Pretty catalog
Cons: Customer service/ actually shipping items

I am stupid enough to continue to try to give sponsors business.

Fourth try with Ground Up and fourth experience of horrible service. This last time I specified in an internet order that if backordered cancel order and send message.

7 days later no parts and no message I call and get a rude response, and they can't pull up order. Cancel order incredulously.

I sent an e-mail asking for explanation and no response.

Good riddance.

Mark
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
V Bradford

Registered: March 2011
Location: Huntsville Texas
Posts: 11
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: None!
Cons: Poor quality! Very poor service

Wow! Sure wish I had read this section before ordering from these guys. I have ordered from them on two different occasions. Both times the person that took the order seemed put out that I disturbed him. I thought that the first time was just a fluke. The second order, a heater blower motor and power steering hoses were so poorly made (OEM, yea right) that I asked to return them. Thay gave a return number but I have yet to receive any refund 10 working days later. They sure took the money fast though.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
killerbees
Lifetime Premium Member

Registered: November 2010
Location: jefferson city mo
Posts: 106
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: fast shipping
Cons: poor parts, missing parts, no after sale contact from them at all. Been waiting for close to a month for them to answer me.

There are better places go. That have good customer service. I tried to use them as they sponcer this site. But my money is best spent elsewhere.

------------------------------
1968 300 Deluxe 2dr coupe - burned in fire
1969 300 Deluxe 2dr post
1969 Chevelle SS 396 4 spd - burned in fire
1970 Nova 2dr granny car
2007 Aveo - burned in fire
2013 Chevy Spark
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
66Malibu21
Tech Team

Registered: October 2011
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 146
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $500.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: NONE
Cons: Poor service, poor quality, SLOW DELIVERY

I have purchased a few things from ground up over the past couple months. Each time there has been something wrong with their products (mostly because they are POOR quality). Then when you tell them about it, you are the bad guy. I will NEVER deal with them again. Summit or somewhere else is a much better choice with better service.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Page:  1 · 2 More Items




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:18 PM.


Is there a site like this for?    El Caminos Camaros Novas Impalas GTO Chevy Punch All Chevys

© 2009 Team Chevelle - AutoForums