Chevelle Tech join team chevelle as a supporting member  
Chevelle Parts at SS396.com      
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Chevelle
     

Auto Insurance

Chevelles.com is the premier Chevrolet Chevelle Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Family
cheyteam_link.jpg - 1811 Bytes
camaro_link.jpg - 2815 Bytes
chevelle_link.jpg - 3062 Bytes
impala_link.jpg - 3140 Bytes
nova_link.jpg - 2412 Bytes
Team Chevelle Sponsors
Random Products - Parts Vendors
AMK Products Master Body Bolt and Underhood Detailing Kit
350_Malibu

Most Viewed
Tremec Transmissions... 42,597
Goodmark Goodmark Ch... 32,558
Diamond Back Classic... 32,314
Cars & Parts Magazin... 32,168
How to Custom Paint ... 31,525
ACC Molded Carpet 31,480
Pinstriping Masters ... 31,117
Automotive Cheap Tri... 31,091
Jim Schild Original ... 29,395
Advanced Custom Pain... 28,315
1969 Chevelle Dash ... 27,951
Dale McIntosh 1967 C... 27,465
Howard's Backyard Au... 26,767
Ultimate Sheet Metal... 26,548
Advanced Sheet Metal... 26,494

 
Home » Suppliers » Parts Vendors  

O.P.G. Origional Parts Group
Reviews Views Date of last review
32 16149
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
41% of reviewers $174.06 4.0



Description: Online and mail order catalog restoration parts company


Author
Post A Reply 
GSOUPME
Lifetime Premium Member

Registered: June 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 192
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: They had what I needed.
Cons: Only one was in stock, but the other came in the next day.

I have had good and bad luck with many of the major parts companies. When I needed something from OPG the sales guys what very friendly and answered the questions I had. I ordered door latches for my 66 and they only had one in stock, but the guy put it in the mail for me that day and I got it the next day. No extra charge for rush shipping. I called Him the day o got it and thanked him for the great service and he told me the other side had come in and he put that in the mail and I got it the following day. I needed the parts so I could fit my door and he took care of me.
He Also only charged me $11.00 for shipping for both items that were shipped on seperate days.

All in all a Great experience

------------------------------
1966 CHEVELLE,
383 SBC, 700r4
12 BOLT
RED WITH BLACK INTERIOR
SPONSERED BY:
www.hartrods.com

The Chevelle
http://s221.photobucket.com/albums/dd90/gsoupme/
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit GSOUPME's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
jimlogan
Lifetime Premium Member

Registered: November 2005
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 158
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Large selection of parts in nice catalog.
Cons:

I just dealt with opg with excellent results. Part back ordered arrived when promised. I think it depends on finding the right counter person.
Write down his name. I have found this to be true with other venders.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
pvcoachcraig

Registered: December 2007
Location: Fla
Posts: 10
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: I had good luch with them
Cons: Some products were out of stock, but not many

I ordered about 3500 dollars worth of stuff and it all seemed like good quality. Out of all the items, the only back ordered stuff was speciality stuff like the digital gagues, and grant ss horn.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
68everyday

Registered: May 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: nothing
Cons: nothing in stock

I will never use them again. I bought solid trans lines from them and paid extra for shipping and they still cramed them in the box. I tried to straighten them out the best I could, but they still look like S**T.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
mattkinel
Tech Team

Registered: August 2007
Location: Needham, MA
Posts: 61
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: cheap, in stock, fast ship
Cons: poor quality, awful customer service

OPGi has everything but they do not carry brand name parts. The parts I have bought look homemade and don't fit right. I'm never buying from them again. Its cheap Chinese made products like this that ruin the superior American manufacturing.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
SixActual
Lifetime Premium Member

Registered: February 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3082
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Customer Service, Rapid Shipping
Cons: Back-ordered parts; Insurance costs

I've made most of my purchases from OPGI and I deal with one Rep and one Rep only. His name is Ray Temple, Ext-215, is very friendly and has really been a big help to me. He advises me of what's discounted when I place an order, and also advises me when the next sale will begin or end. If I call him and he's on another line with a customer, he calls me back as soon as he can on the same day, so I can place my order.

On back ordered items I was never charged for shipping on those parts. Every part I ordered from them, totalling over $4000 so far as of 09.17.2008, have been of the highest quality, even those made in China or Taiwan. Several back ordered items have been a pain, but since I have no need for the majority of those parts thus far, it's not a big deal at this time.

When ordering and paying for parts, you accumulate points and after you accumulate an "X" amount of points, you'll receive $90.00 off your next order. However, you must call them to obtain how many points you have accumulated. Every invoice you receive has the number of points you received with THAT particular order, and you do not have to use those points when you reach the lowest limit; you can carry them over to your next order to receive additional dollars off and you're points NEVER expire.

One problem is that OPGI tags an extra couple of dollars for "Insurance," which I'm not to happy with, but when I speak with Ray, I simply tell him I don't want the insurance and he's cool with that. I'll pay for the Insurance if I order a part that I feel may be damaged during shipping. The cost of shipping isn't that bad considering they are located in CA and I reside in NJ.

I've dealt with other companies and have been satisfied with most of them, but I feel more comfortable dealing with OPGI.

------------------------------
TC# 4437
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Stalkingbear
Senior Tech Team

Registered: August 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2491
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: nice catalog
Cons: parts don't fit, poor service

I am done with this company. Last straw is the gutter trim for the '65 - the bend at the end by the windshield was manufactured to turn down - it should have turned in. I got approval to return and provided a copy of the cost to ship. Inever heard from them so I called and was told that "all of them turn down so we would still have the issue if we sent a new one." I asked, 'So all of your trims are made wrong?' THe fun answer was, 'We have sent these out with no problems.... so we are refunding the charge to you.... but not the freight since it was not OUR problem."
Thanks for nothing - I went and threw my catalogs away, never again.... never again. I still have parts that don't fit but they have lost me as a customer forever. AND, I tell everyone.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
SixActual
Lifetime Premium Member

Registered: February 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3082
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: FREE Replacement of damaged parts
Cons: Bent drip rail molding and creased trunk backboard

I'm unsure how this could have happened, but when I received the box, it was obvious that it had been stepped on. Of course, the FedEx driver did the old "shoot and scoot," after dropping off the box before I got to the door.

Inside was the black trunk backboard that had a crease in it, and in another box were the drip rail moldings. Upon checking the moldings, I noticed one was twisted about 90 degrees. The other parts I ordered were in fine condition.

I immediately called OPGI and spoke with the salesman, Ray Temple (not their Claims Dept.), who sent me out another complete set of drip rail moldings and another trunk backboard, free of charge which arrived undamaged several days later.

He was going to contact FedEx and let them worry about the Claim, so, I'm currently saving the damaged shipping box and the parts, if FedEx wants to examine them. If I don't hear from them in another two weeks, I'll toss 'em out.

------------------------------
TC# 4437
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Stalkingbear
Senior Tech Team

Registered: August 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2491
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons: shipment of backorder after I cancelled my account!

Today, two months after I cancelled my account with opgi, and I told them to cancel any backorders they might have, I received a part that was on backorder. So, after three emails with Mr. Dunn at opgi and his attempts tp placate me, I receive something that I don't want. I think I will refuse to pay the credit card company and let them fight it out. Why should I have to ship this thing back, taking my time and - even tho they will say they will refund the shipping, why do I have to have the headache!

I made the right decision dumping this company in the first place.
BAH!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Stalkingbear
Senior Tech Team

Registered: August 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2491
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: none
Cons: lots

Finally, after another month, the part is on its way back to them. Then comes the credit and I'll buy it from another parts vendor for $30 LESS than what these guys charged. It pays to shop around!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Jas69

Registered: August 2007
Location: Chattanooga,TN
Posts: 17
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Friendly customer service
Cons: Some what higher than competition,back orders,shipping $$

I have used them on quite a few orders. My major complaint is that as they appear to be a major parts supplier everytime I place an order one or two of what I need first is on back order. I mainly use them now as a back up for other vendors. I just started using Johns Classic car parts and I am very impressed with them. Ausleys is another good one for me.

------------------------------
T/C# 5227

68 Chevelle
70 Camaro (Project, looking for parts!)

"So many cars, so short a life."
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
chevygerry66

Registered: August 2008
Location: akron ohio 44306
Posts: 5
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: it beat's not having any at all
Cons: the fitting of part's could be better

the stainless parts are leaving rust spot's on paintafter washing car/under trim piece's
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Rich-L79
Super Mod

Registered: October 1999
Location: Waverly, NE USA
Posts: 12537
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Never had a major issue with this vendor, lots of selection
Cons: Occassional out of stock issues

I've never had any real problems with this vendor. My orders were always well priced and promptly shipped. Any issue that may have arrising was promptly dealt with to my satisfaction.

------------------------------
NCOA member #220
ACES member #1670
Team Chevelle #998
1965 Malibu SS L79 Restoration Page
1965 Two-Door Wagon Project Progress Page
2006 Pontiac GTO Preservation Project
Rich Cummings
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Rich-L79's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
asphaltgambler
Tech Team

Registered: December 2012
Location: Warrenton, Va.
Posts: 56
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros:
Cons: Good sales - - but Parts are on B/O

What good is it to have a 20% off sale and the part you ordered is on B/O for another MONTH?

Wake up everyone. All they are doing is pre-selling the parts.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
asstchief12
Tech Team

Registered: August 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 65
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Ok quality
Cons: higher priced

I have been buting parts from these guys since 2002. At first they were good quality parts. Now they have gotten cheap,dont fit right. I had an oil filter kit with less than a 1000 miles on it crack and there high pressure relief valve broke putting foreign debris in the oiling system. No damage thank God!!
Too many other places to get parts so I will go to them
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 More Items




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Is there a site like this for?    El Caminos Camaros Novas Impalas GTO Chevy Punch All Chevys

2009 Team Chevelle - AutoForums