Chevelle Tech join team chevelle as a supporting member  
Chevelle Parts at SS396.com      
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Chevelle
     

Auto Insurance

Chevelles.com is the premier Chevrolet Chevelle Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Family
cheyteam_link.jpg - 1811 Bytes
camaro_link.jpg - 2815 Bytes
chevelle_link.jpg - 3062 Bytes
impala_link.jpg - 3140 Bytes
nova_link.jpg - 2412 Bytes
Team Chevelle Sponsors
Random Products - Parts Vendors
Ground Up Ground Up
Neal Wright

Most Viewed
Tremec Transmissions... 41,358
Diamond Back Classic... 31,587
Goodmark Goodmark Ch... 31,552
Cars & Parts Magazin... 31,266
ACC Molded Carpet 30,728
How to Custom Paint ... 29,989
Pinstriping Masters ... 29,550
Automotive Cheap Tri... 29,471
Jim Schild Original ... 28,604
1969 Chevelle Dash ... 27,342
Advanced Custom Pain... 26,797
Dale McIntosh 1967 C... 26,685
Howard's Backyard Au... 25,758
Gene\\\'s General St... 25,425
Chevelle SS Restorat... 25,283

 
Home » Suppliers » Parts Vendors  

O.P.G. Origional Parts Group
Reviews Views Date of last review
30 15679
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
43% of reviewers $188.30 4.1



Description: Online and mail order catalog restoration parts company


Author
Post A Reply 
Mali Blu
Tech Team

Registered: May 2005
Location: Arizona
Posts: 719
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Good Catalog
Cons: Terrible costomer service,wont stand behind products

I will never use this company again. They dont stand behind there sales or take any responsibility. Act like they are doing you a favor. Just a middle man.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Natural Born Killer
Tech Team

Registered: February 2005
Location: Washington
Posts: 384
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: None
Cons: poor customer service

Wouldnt sell me 427 emblems for my car since it never came with a 427. I figure if I want to put 427 emblems on a skate board its my own bussiness not some sales guy.

------------------------------
68 Chevelle 468, 10.79@124 mph,1.53 60', DOT tires, 3770lbs, no NOS...Do not mettle in the affairs of Dragons, for you are crunchy and taste good with ketchup!....Kelly
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
blue67ragtop
Tech Team

Registered: February 2005
Posts: 128
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good pricing and part quality
Cons: one item backordered

I recently purchased a number of parts for my Chevelle from OPG. The salesman was friendly
and knowledgeable. The prices were better than many of the suppliers and the shipping was fast. One item was backordered but that was explained to me when I placed my order. Part quality was good and I would not hesitate to recommend OPG.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
don lemek
Tech Team

Registered: November 2005
Location: Eastern Pa
Posts: 361
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: none
Cons: sent it all back

I got the stainless for my convertible it looked used-the clips did not fit the car or the stainless. They were hard to deal with and I will never buy from them. I spent over $3,000.00 there and sent back $2,500.00 of it. If you want parts that are just Ok you can buy there. We must start demanding parts that are exact not just close.

------------------------------
65 pro vette
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Clyde's 67
Tech Team

Registered: June 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 185
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: none
Cons: canceled $3500 order

For a huge catalog hardly had anything in stock, numerous backorder items. Freight was $850.00 compared to National Parts Depot freight was only $150.00 for same items, huge difference in customer service and shipping.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
dude67
Senior Tech Team

Registered: October 1998
Location: Orange City, Florida (Near Daytona)
Posts: 1074
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $224.95 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: It bolts onto the transmission
Cons: It does not work well with transmissions

I am writing this letter to express my disappointment in a product in which I bought from OPG in 03-30-99 Reference: Invoice number 1028965, Part number CHRZ51C (1967 Shifter W/ Linkage Buckets). I was not impressed with the quality of this product. I attached it to the transmission and tried to adjust it to just shift gears with transmission out of the car! I tried to lubricate the linkage. With no help. So now I have a $224.95 worthless part on my shelf that I have not only taken a loss in time but also that money could have been spent somewhere else that was needed on my restoration. Granted the original GM shifter was not that great to begin with. But if you are going to reproduce a product, should it not not at lease work. I sent this same letter to OPG with no response.

------------------------------
67SS396 [=OO===SS===OO=] Limit all US politicians to two terms. One in office, One in prison.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
JSHinNC

Registered: October 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 30
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: None
Cons: Terrible Quality

I purchased embroidered floor mats for my Chevelle. The Embroidered Chevelle Logo started to tear apart only after 1 week of use. I contacted them to see what they would be able to do for me. The only solution that would be acceptable to them was to replace the mats but no refund. The only way they would exchange them if the original ones were not used at all. Buying this product from OPG was a waste of time and money. The mats were thrown away, as well as their catalog.

------------------------------
Jeff in NC
1970 Chevelle Malibu
350/Auto/AC
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
franksfever

Registered: September 2004
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 10
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $320.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: gauge operates fine
Cons: does not fit gauge panel properly

I purchased a gauge to replace indicator lights for my 65 Chevelle including the plastic lense.I had to cut out the back of the housing so the gauge would seat and the gauge was still slightly too high in the housing.The indicator shroud hid the gauges so I purchased a used SS gauge shroud for an additional $85.00.The gauge will only fit two of the four gauge cut outs no matter how you position the gauge in the housing.Now when I turn on the dash lights you can actually see the bulbs.The gauge actually looks like a malteese cross with the amp and temp being a bit shorter than the gas and oil thats why I can see the bulbs.I saw what appeared to be an actual gauge from an SS car on E-Bay and all the legs of the cross appeared to be of the same length.OPG has sold many of these with no complaints except mine.I have over $40,000.00 invested in my 65 and as you would imagine I'm not too happy. NEW INFORMATION! I spoke with the supplier today he is sending me the shroud refered to as a mask and a new lense.It would seem that this manufacturer packs a gauge a lense a mask a template and instructions as a unit to OPG.Now what does OPG do with the kit?Evidently they bust the unit into pieces to sell seperately and dispose of other parts(mask,template,instructions maybe).I now have the owner/directors name at OPG and so far I have been unable to reach him for comment.Needless to say the Mfg wasn't very happy to hear how I had received his product from OPG but mega dittos to him for backing his product.OPG has caused me un-necessary money ,aggravation and time with this particular purchase.I will update this message when and if I get a response from OPG.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
meb
Tech Team

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 244
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $19.95 | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: none
Cons: Shipping is too expensive

Problem 1:
Lots of out of stock items.

Problem 2:
You really need to watch these guys and their shipping charges. I got charged 19.95 for shipping for $7.00 worth of stuff that weighed about 2 oz.. $14.95 for the shipping and $5.00 for insurance. $5.00 insurance for $7.00 worth of stuff? And donít most of the carriers give you free insurance under $100?

Problem 3:
I spent enough to get free shipping. Some of the backorder stuff then got tagged as qualifying for shipping charges. When it was all done, I got charged like $60 for some backordered items that were suppose to be shipped free! Of course I called them and I spoke to Joel (the one and only he claims). He said that he would take care of it. After 2 weeks the problem was not resolved. I spoke to another individual (donít have name), they said it takes about 2 weeks. After a month, nothing. Finally disputed it through the credit card company and won 2-3 months later.

Summary:
Do yourselves a favor and go with National Parts Depot or Ausley's.

Another Problem:
Oh, and as another thread said here, OPG act like they are doing you a favor...such cavalier attitudes.


------------------------------
70 Chevelle SS 396; Manual Trans; build sheet; matching numbers; 63k documented miles.

65 Chevelle SS 283; Powerglide; Protect-o-Plate; matching numbers; 51k documented miles.

TC# 3484

http://mysite.verizon.net/~chevelle1970ss
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Mike H
Team Member

Registered: August 1998
Location: Philadelphia, Pa.
Posts: 139
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Nice catalog - but I gave it away
Cons: Customer Service is poor

I will never purchase another item from OPG. I placed an order worth over $2500 during one of their "Special" 20% sales. Never was I told that many of the items were out of stock. I didn't find out until the first items were shipped. I waited over 4 months for many of the items. I finally called and sent a detailed email cancelling more than half of the remaining items. They were shipped to me a month later?? I called again and asked for call tags and inquired why they shipped them, answer "Don't Know". No problem just send them back, which I did. Just happened to check my credit card statement a month afterwards to find out that I had not received a credit. Called again, was told items were missing from the returns. I stated I had never opened them and just placed call tags on their boxes. It took another 3 weeks to receive credit. It takes an average of 12 - 18 minutes just to get someone on the phone, this is very frustrating. Wheel opening mouldings were bent on three shipments. Never again.

------------------------------
Mike
70 SS
70Elky
Elky LT1
71 Nova
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
mike nelson
Tech Team

Registered: April 2002
Location: fl
Posts: 56
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: they do have a nice catalog
Cons: backordered

i had problem 3,they flat out lied to me. i will never buy from them again
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
billntenn1972
Tech Team

Registered: April 2006
Posts: 119
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good prices
Cons: some backorders

Ordered 3,000 worth of items for a 64 ss restoration. Had advanced planning so time was not a big issue, many items were back ordered but when it got to crunch time and i called other vendors they were not in stock either. Nearly every part fit perfect. Had an issue with one piece and they sent me a new one and even gave me a future credit. Dealt with many people there but Lisa was the one that seems to know more than anyone and is very helpful. I would go same route again, prices were much cheaper with good quality.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
350_Malibu
Senior Tech Team

Registered: July 2005
Location: Aloha, Oregon
Posts: 2487
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: See Cons
Cons: Backorders, Bad Customer Service

Terrible customer service. Constant back orders. I've given up on this vendor after several times of using them.

Most back-orders I've had never get filled until I call half irate at their incompetence.

Look elsewhere...

Now I use NPD and Ground-UP for all of my purchases.

------------------------------


[OO] Malibu [OO]
70 Chevelle - Malibu
TC #4464
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Roofuss
Tech Team

Registered: March 2006
Location: Payson, Arizona
Posts: 345
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Fast shipping , back ordered part was shipped immediately, good informative catalog, customer service on the phone was very good .
Cons: Additonal parts in my order were packed in with the new 4 core radiator, bent several cooling fins -really stupid !

Everything was very good involving my order { new 4 core radiator and addtional small parts } except packing / shipping methods ! Packed small parts in with the new radiator and arrived with several bent / damaged cooling fins . Saying this was very stupid is an understatement . Will think long and hard before using OPG again and will exhaust all other options first ! Really a shame that something so simple can hurt a companys reputation / business through stupidity like this ! Just sorry I did not read this review before ordering !

------------------------------
"65 El Camino L-79 /4 speed
ACES # 07672
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
hmott
Tech Team

Registered: April 2005
Location: S.E. Ohio
Posts: 817
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: They sent the parts, nice catalog
Cons: They ROB you on shipping

Parts are about the same as everywhere, prices are a little high but with 10% off they seemed about normal. Well they rob you on shipping! First the guy on the phone wouldn't get me a "full" quote, he said they would add shipping to it later. DON'T fall for this, they will rob you!

------------------------------
Harlan Mott <- Not French
71 Malibu Convertible - rust bucket
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit hmott's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Page:  1 · 2 More Items




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:41 PM.


Is there a site like this for?    El Caminos Camaros Novas Impalas GTO Chevy Punch All Chevys

© 2009 Team Chevelle - AutoForums