gravity vs. conventional siphon spray gun - Chevelle Tech
Chevelle Tech join team chevelle as a supporting member  
Chevelle Parts at SS396.com      
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Chevelle

Auto Insurance

Chevelles.com is the premier Chevrolet Chevelle Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Body Shop Paint & Body Forum

Old Dec 6th, 01, 11:20 AM
Tech Team

I have no spray paint experience. I want to buy a gun and spay the necessary primers on my 65 resto project. I intend to leave the topcoats to professionals. What is the difference between these to guns? Also what advantages of each. Also, some guns are HVLP, while others of the same model are described as conventional. Should I go HVLP? I have a 5hp compressor, 60 gal tank, that puts out 11.4 cfm at 50 and 9.0 at 90psi, I believe.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old Dec 6th, 01, 11:35 AM
Senior Tech Team
Eric

Go with a hvlp gun they might be more money but well worth the added cost. They produce less over spray and have higher paint transfer rate then the conventional gun.

The main difference between them is the amount of air required to spray out the paint. The hvlp uses less air pressure then the conven, and the hvlp to me seems to break up the paint into finer particles then the conven gun.

The siphon to gravity fed is personal choice I prefer the gravity fed myself but others hate them so use what feels more comfortable to you.

Buy a good gun but buy the cheapest gun and get a name brand gun there is a difference and that is a big difference. Get a shrape or binks, sata. Those are some the big names in guns and all make a cheap gun to spray. Shrape cobalt gun is a good gun for primers for what is costs at around a 100 bucks. But what ever you do dont settle for just a cheapy at sears or harbor freight because they are 39.99 get something good.
Old Dec 6th, 01, 11:46 AM
Tech Team