Turbo 400 kickdown switch - Chevelle Tech
Chevelle Tech join team chevelle as a supporting member  
Chevelle Parts at SS396.com      
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Chevelle
     

Auto Insurance

Chevelles.com is the premier Chevrolet Chevelle Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Transmission & Driveline Transmissions and Differentials

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old Aug 11th, 12, 3:40 PM
dc7432 dc7432 is offline
Lifetime Premium Member
Dale
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sturbridge, MA
Posts: 134
Default Turbo 400 kickdown switch

My transmission doesnt downshifting when I hit the gas. I tested the switch on the gas peddle and I have 12 volts on the terminal closest to the firewall. When I manually move the switch the other terminal goes from 0 volts to 12v then tested the feed at the transmission orange wire has 12 volts with the black (ground?) at 0 volts. When I start the car the switch at the pedel doesnt move, it stays at the last location. Should it "slide" up to the pedlal? Need a new kickdown switch? I bought the switch new last year and just installed so maybe its defective. I beleive the vacuum is only for upshifting that works fine. Car is a 71 chevelle with a 402, thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old Aug 11th, 12, 7:15 PM
hmardown hmardown is offline
Team Member
carlo
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: hudson valley,ny
Posts: 1,377
Default Re: Turbo 400 kickdown switch

Dale
look at the pedal when your pushing down on it, it should be making contact with the switch. when you floor it should make contact & slide the switch to engage it. once your pedal slides the switch then it will send a signal to engage. there's not a lot of adjustment for the pedal to switch contact. what I did with mine is I slid a piece of 3/8 gas line over that barrel part of the switch. this made the contact area thicker for the pedal to move the switch. works like a charm. hope I explained it good enough.got too have passing gear hooked up unless you go with a quick silver floor shifter, which I just did. good luck. hmardown
__________________
72 Elky
MJ 467
Turbo 400
12 Bolt
3.42:1 Posi
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old Aug 11th, 12, 8:37 PM
dc7432 dc7432 is offline
Lifetime Premium Member
Dale
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sturbridge, MA
Posts: 134
Default Re: Turbo 400 kickdown switch

Thanks Carol, so after i adjust drive one time the switch is "stuck" at the last position so it doesnt go back to the inital position. I will try the hose trick as well, thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old Aug 11th, 12, 11:46 PM
Schurkey Schurkey is offline
Gold Founding Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1998
Location: the Seasonally Frozen Wastelands
Posts: 9,533
Default Re: Turbo 400 kickdown switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by dc7432 View Post
My transmission doesnt downshifting when I hit the gas. I tested the switch on the gas peddle and I have 12 volts on the terminal closest to the firewall. When I manually move the switch the other terminal goes from 0 volts to 12v then tested the feed at the transmission orange wire has 12 volts with the black (ground?) at 0 volts. When I start the car the switch at the pedel doesnt move, it stays at the last location. Should it "slide" up to the pedlal? Need a new kickdown switch? I bought the switch new last year and just installed so maybe its defective. I beleive the vacuum is only for upshifting that works fine. Car is a 71 chevelle with a 402, thanks in advance.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmardown View Post
I slid a piece of 3/8 gas line over that barrel part of the switch. this made the contact area thicker for the pedal to move the switch.
For the '70 and newer switch, the switch has to be moved fully forward, then it self-adjusts the first time you put the pedal to the carpet. There is no need to put hose over the actuator peg.
http://www.chevelles.com/forums/showthread.php?t=301666
Especially post 16



SOMEDAY I'll stumble across a '68--'69 switch to see how they're different in terms of adjustment from the newer version.
__________________
.
.
Did you SEARCH BEFORE POSTING a new thread?

Did you post in the correct forum?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old Aug 12th, 12, 12:26 PM
hmardown hmardown is offline
Team Member
carlo
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: hudson valley,ny
Posts: 1,377
Default Re: Turbo 400 kickdown switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by dc7432 View Post
Thanks Carol, so after i adjust drive one time the switch is "stuck" at the last position so it doesnt go back to the inital position. I will try the hose trick as well, thanks.
who's carol ? your welcome, Carlo
__________________
72 Elky
MJ 467
Turbo 400
12 Bolt
3.42:1 Posi
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old Aug 19th, 12, 7:22 PM
dc7432 dc7432 is offline
Lifetime Premium Member
Dale
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sturbridge, MA
Posts: 134
Default Re: Turbo 400 kickdown switch

Thanks Carlo,

Havent fixed the problem yet, I bought a new switch at the pedal and read you can test the kickdown solenoid by putting 12v to the top terminal and grounding to the frame. Another post didnt recommend this. Has anyone tested the switch? I'm getting 12v on the top and 0 on the bottom. If its bad I assume I need to drop the pan? thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old Aug 21st, 12, 12:09 AM
Schurkey Schurkey is offline
Gold Founding Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1998
Location: the Seasonally Frozen Wastelands
Posts: 9,533
Default Re: Turbo 400 kickdown switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by dc7432 View Post
Thanks Carlo,

Havent fixed the problem yet, I bought a new switch at the pedal and read you can test the kickdown solenoid by putting 12v to the top terminal and grounding to the frame. Another post didnt recommend this. Has anyone tested the switch? I'm getting 12v on the top and 0 on the bottom. If its bad I assume I need to drop the pan? thanks.
Switch, or solenoid? Switch is at the gas pedal, solenoid is on the valve body, requires pan removal.

A photo of how you're doing this test would be nice.
__________________
.
.
Did you SEARCH BEFORE POSTING a new thread?

Did you post in the correct forum?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old Aug 22nd, 12, 10:00 PM
dc7432 dc7432 is offline
Lifetime Premium Member
Dale
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sturbridge, MA
Posts: 134
Default Re: Turbo 400 kickdown switch

Im talking about the Solenoid on the tranny, looking on how to test. Thanks again
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply
Chevelle Tech > Mechanical > Transmission & Driveline      Current Topic: Turbo 400 kickdown switch
Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Chevelle Tech forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address. Note, you will be sent a confirmation request to this address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 4:13 AM.


Is there a site like this for?    El Caminos Camaros Novas Impalas GTO Chevy Punch All Chevys

2009 Team Chevelle - AutoForums