painting in humid weather - Chevelle Tech
Chevelle Tech join team chevelle as a supporting member  
Chevelle Parts at SS396.com      
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Chevelle

Auto Insurance

Chevelles.com is the premier Chevrolet Chevelle Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Body Shop Paint & Body Forum

Old Aug 12th, 08, 1:17 AM

Default painting in humid weather

Hey everyone. I'm a few weeks off from painting my 71. I'll be using BC/CC. I live in east texas and am worried about the humidity which can get really high. My buddy told me I should wait until about October to paint my car but I was wondering if it's safe to paint my car sooner if I use a different reducer. A slower reducer would be more appropriate correct?

I searched the forums and found some info on this but not enough to where I felt good about making a decision. I'm fairly new at this. Any advice would be great.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old Aug 12th, 08, 8:33 AM
Senior Tech Team
Roger

Default Re: painting in humid weather

Your BC/CC uses a catalysis to cure the paint so the humidity is not as much of a problem as with the older air drying paints. It's always humid in Texas and we paint cars year round here so I wouldn't wait until fall myself.
Old Aug 12th, 08, 9:04 AM
Senior Tech Team
TC

most paints reccommend the humitdy be below 85%. The metal itself starts getting wet above that. Buy a gage and see where its at.
Old Aug 12th, 08, 1:00 PM
Senior Tech Team
Eric Shunn

I would think the only issue would be the amount of condensation on the panels, plus any moisture in the compressed air. I would make sure you have several dryers in your air line. I think Rubadub has some pictures of his setup on his site.
If it doesn't fit, force it. If it breaks, it needed to be replaced anyway.

SuperAndy's Garage

B and A Antiques
Old Aug 12th, 08, 2:40 PM