th400 transbrake install - Chevelle Tech
Chevelle Tech join team chevelle as a supporting member  
Chevelle Parts at SS396.com      
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Chevelle
     

Auto Insurance

Chevelles.com is the premier Chevrolet Chevelle Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Performance Our High Performance area

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 28th, 08, 11:37 AM
10secBu 10secBu is offline
Senior Tech Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 3,494
Default th400 transbrake install

We had our second MSRA race on Memorial Day and as soon as I got home, the car was on the stands to be ready to take the trans out.

The trans is now out and on the bench and I've begun the install process.

I've never worked on a th400 internally before, so I'm learning as I go. It's not near as bad to work on as I had thought all these years. I'm enjoying learning how to work on is as I intend to try and be able to maintence the transmission from here on out.

Anyway, all the parts came in and I should be able to button the trans up in about 2 hours or so.

I won't make it to test this weekend, but may try for the following.

Parts used during the install are:

- Griner Pro Start trans brake (internal solenoid)

- ATI forget/billet forward clutch hub

- ATI gasket/seal kit

- PTC 8" converter

- MSD 8735 3 step "Launch Control"

- Biondo "Double O" button

















Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old May 28th, 08, 11:55 AM
496malibu 496malibu is offline
Tech Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Summerville,SC
Posts: 647
Default Re: th400 transbrake install

i think its cool to take on a new challenge. hopefully the new converter will work out for you. Im using PTC and its been good to me so far.
__________________
http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t...t/IMG_2095.jpg
68 chevelle 355 12.67@107
78 malibu 454 on E-85 9.79@ 131
http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t...t/IMG_3115.jpg
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old May 28th, 08, 12:01 PM
trmnatr trmnatr is offline
Banned
Butch
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,048
Default Re: th400 transbrake install

They will probally have you set the clutch pack clearance up at .055"-.070"
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old May 28th, 08, 12:12 PM
JOHN WILSON JOHN WILSON is offline
Lifetime Premium Member
Clueless TnTr
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Spring,TX
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via AIM to JOHN WILSON
Default Re: th400 transbrake install

Say, where can I get me some of those nifty BettyCrocker parts containers?

Looks good, Todd!

Again..........more clutter please.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old May 28th, 08, 6:44 PM
kirkwoodken kirkwoodken is offline
Senior Tech Team
Ken
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2,519
Default Re: th400 transbrake install

Here is a link to Jakeshoe's excellent rebuild article. Replace anything that is worn and blow everything off with the air nozzle before you put it in. You can put the pump together without the giant hose clamp, but having one makes it easier. With a TB, you will be throwing a lot of parts in the "save-for-future-projects" bin.
__________________
kirkwoodken
406 SB, Original Bill Thomas '63 Rochester FI
AFR 210, Lunati 501C2LUN, 255/263@.050", .628"
10:1, TH400, 3.31's, 4400 SS

"Life is too short to not run a solid roller cam."
"There is nothing the human mind cannot rationalize"
Kirkwoodken
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old May 28th, 08, 10:21 PM
10secBu 10secBu is offline
Senior Tech Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 3,494
Default Re: th400 transbrake install





Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old May 28th, 08, 10:26 PM
trmnatr trmnatr is offline
Banned
Butch
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,048
Default Re: th400 transbrake install

Quote:
Originally Posted by 10secBu View Post




Get the wheelie bars on order

Whats that transbrake run now, about $650 ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old May 28th, 08, 10:26 PM
10secBu 10secBu is offline
Senior Tech Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 3,494
Default Re: th400 transbrake install

Quote:
Originally Posted by kirkwoodken View Post
Here is a link to Jakeshoe's excellent rebuild article. Replace anything that is worn and blow everything off with the air nozzle before you put it in. You can put the pump together without the giant hose clamp, but having one makes it easier. With a TB, you will be throwing a lot of parts in the "save-for-future-projects" bin.
No full rebuild this time around. This was basically a valve body swap and looking at the direct drum to see if the mods needed for the t-brake were done or not. The .063" bleed hole was already there, so I just installed the 16 heavy return springs and checked the clutch pack clearances. I also replaced the direct drum seals since I took the piston out.

Clutches and steels looked pretty darn good for 250+ passes, so for now it's going back together as is.

Over the winter I'll do a more in depth freshening, but for now I just wanted to get my feet wet so to speak.

Only parts thrown away were some seals, old softer return springs and the previous ATI reverse manual valve body. No other parts were removed/deleted as the ATI rev/man was setup identical to the Griner brake in terms of no case mods, intermediate band/servo deleted and rear servo accumulator seals deleted.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old May 28th, 08, 10:28 PM
10secBu 10secBu is offline
Senior Tech Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 3,494
Default Re: th400 transbrake install

Quote:
Originally Posted by trmnatr View Post
Get the wheelie bars on order

Whats that transbrake run now, about $650 ?
From ATI it's $749

I found it online for $595 + shipping, so total was $620.

When I spoke with Steve Griner a few years ago, this brake was $550 direct from him.

Car has had wheelie bars on since last fall. Looks like I may never be able to take them off.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old May 28th, 08, 10:32 PM
trmnatr trmnatr is offline
Banned
Butch
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,048
Default Re: th400 transbrake install

Quote:
Originally Posted by 10secBu View Post
From ATI it's $749

I found it online for $595 + shipping, so total was $620.

When I spoke with Steve Griner a few years ago, this brake was $550 direct from him.

Car has had wheelie bars on since last fall. Looks like I may never be able to take them off.
I think ATI is higher for us local guys

Did you run or replace the steel sealing rings with Teflon sealing rings ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11  
Old May 28th, 08, 10:33 PM
10secBu 10secBu is offline
Senior Tech Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 3,494
Default Re: th400 transbrake install

Quote:
Originally Posted by trmnatr View Post
I think ATI is higher for us local guys

Did you run or replace the steel sealing rings with Teflon sealing rings ?
trans already had teflon rings. I got a seal gasket kit from ATI to have here while I was working on it and they give stinking steel rings with their kits.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12  
Old May 28th, 08, 10:40 PM
trmnatr trmnatr is offline
Banned
Butch
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,048
Default Re: th400 transbrake install

Quote:
Originally Posted by 10secBu View Post
trans already had teflon rings. I got a seal gasket kit from ATI to have here while I was working on it and they give stinking steel rings with their kits.
Steel rings will allow the groove to blow apart in a failure, teflon rings will not

ATI is ATI and will always be ATI
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13  
Old May 29th, 08, 4:23 AM
BillyGman BillyGman is offline
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: CT,USA
Posts: 11,215
Default Re: th400 transbrake install

hmmm....and here I was thinking that all trans brakes used an external solenoid. .....so here I am once again learning from Team Chevelle. Thanks Todd for sharing.
__________________
70 Chevelle SS clone (632 CI powered).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14  
Old May 29th, 08, 7:17 AM
blue66 blue66 is offline
Senior Tech Team
Brian Gooding
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Shiocton, WI
Posts: 3,401
Default Re: th400 transbrake install

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyGman View Post
hmmm....and here I was thinking that all trans brakes used an external solenoid. .....so here I am once again learning from Team Chevelle. Thanks Todd for sharing.
Nope, and some are actually a brake on the rear of the trans. Kind of like the parking brakes on some big trucks.


Looks good Todd!

I built myself a fixture for holding the trans, it is similiar to the Kentmoore piece a big "C" that goes into the case lugs, then I can hang it on my engine stand. If your gonna be tearing into this thing here and there it's worth buying or building one.

Here's a link to one on ebay.......I just built mine. Cheaper

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/_Auto...m270240957236&
__________________
66 Chevelle SS
496ci, Pump gas, no dominator, no spool, no electric fuel pump, no electric water pump, no big tires, full interior. N/A.
1.37
6.21 @ 109.7
9.82 @ 134.9

9.87 pass/grudge match http://youtu.be/Au6Lq7rH9Ak

"Keep your hopes up and your pedal down"....Rowdy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15  
Old May 29th, 08, 7:18 AM
bracketchev1221 bracketchev1221 is offline
Senior Tech Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 9,003
Default Re: th400 transbrake install

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyGman View Post
hmmm....and here I was thinking that all trans brakes used an external solenoid. .....so here I am once again learning from Team Chevelle. Thanks Todd for sharing.
Nope some companies have internal t-400 brakes. I had one in my old trans, but the Trans Specialties one has an external. I like the external because it's easier to know if it's working, I can hear it clicking from inside the car.
__________________
Ray

http://s30.photobucket.com/albums/c3...t=DSC01615.jpg
Best pass so far 9.039 at 148.10, 1.266 60'
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply
Chevelle Tech > General Tech Area > Performance      Current Topic: th400 transbrake install
Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Chevelle Tech forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address. Note, you will be sent a confirmation request to this address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 7:32 PM.


Is there a site like this for?    El Caminos Camaros Novas Impalas GTO Chevy Punch All Chevys

2009 Team Chevelle - AutoForums