Powerglide Modulator Vacuum Line - Chevelle Tech
Chevelle Tech join team chevelle as a supporting member  
Chevelle Parts at SS396.com      
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Chevelle
     

Auto Insurance

Chevelles.com is the premier Chevrolet Chevelle Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Transmission & Driveline Transmissions and Differentials

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old Dec 7th, 07, 7:43 PM
boboh1 boboh1 is offline
Tech Team
Robert
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Claremont, CA.
Posts: 75
Question Powerglide Modulator Vacuum Line

Where is the modulator vacuum line usually connected on the intake manifold? The guy I got my 1964 Chevelle from had it connected to the carburetor but I am sure this is not the proper location. He did not have a choke and hooked it to where the choke pulloff vacuum line normally is hooked up to. Will this work or should I move it somewhere else? Thanks.,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old Dec 7th, 07, 7:47 PM
2cool 2cool is offline
Senior Tech Team
Ace Ventura
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Out back in the sticks!
Posts: 1,958
Default Re: Powerglide Modulator Vacuum Line

It should be on a vacuum tree on the intake.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old Dec 7th, 07, 7:54 PM
boboh1 boboh1 is offline
Tech Team
Robert
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Claremont, CA.
Posts: 75
Default Re: Powerglide Modulator Vacuum Line

There is no T on this intake as maybe the guy closed it up with a bolt or something. I'll have to check closely. There is a large line coming out of the carburetor base that is used for the brake booster. Where would I get a fitting for the intake vacuum?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old Dec 7th, 07, 8:44 PM
kivaka kivaka is offline
Tech Team
David
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Napperville, IL Solon Springs Wi
Posts: 599
Send a message via AIM to kivaka Send a message via Yahoo to kivaka Send a message via Skype™ to kivaka
Default Re: Powerglide Modulator Vacuum Line

i have a powerglide book at home i can look it up and post here after i find it, i also have a 64 with a powerglide but i dont have any vacuum lines on mine, i use have the lines that run to the cooler
__________________
64,4dr,350,.30, 650 edelbrock, torker ll.
PG, 10bolt 3.55posi, Flow Tech headers 1 3/4.
2 1/2in Flex-pipes, 2 1/2in H-pipe,
46in 2 1/2in srait pipes,
2 1/2in Magnaflows dumped behind rear tires
Team Member#4268
ACES#8244
http://www.kivaka.com/chevelle.html
http://www.dirtypistol.com
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old Dec 10th, 07, 11:21 AM
boboh1 boboh1 is offline
Tech Team
Robert
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Claremont, CA.
Posts: 75
Default Re: Powerglide Modulator Vacuum Line

Which method do you feel is best? Hooking it up to the carburetor or directly to the intake manifold? Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old Dec 10th, 07, 6:38 PM
2cool 2cool is offline
Senior Tech Team
Ace Ventura
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Out back in the sticks!
Posts: 1,958
Default Re: Powerglide Modulator Vacuum Line

It depends, if you have a big port at the base of the back of the carb that will be ok, you can't use one of the small ports around the enrichment screws.

Edit:

Or you shouldn't but if you only have one and it goes to the valve cover then use those.

That line tells the tranny when to upshift you can tell if it's not right.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old Dec 10th, 07, 6:52 PM
boboh1 boboh1 is offline
Tech Team
Robert
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Claremont, CA.
Posts: 75
Default Re: Powerglide Modulator Vacuum Line

The guy I bought it from had it hooked to one of the small carburetor ports. He blocked off the intake port with a bolt for some reason. I was just wondering if the vacuum is the same at what ever location it is hooked to. I was going to hook it the correct way to the intake but then I'll have an extra port on the carburetor since I converted it to electric choke and no longer need the choke pull-off vacuum.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply
Chevelle Tech > Mechanical > Transmission & Driveline      Current Topic: Powerglide Modulator Vacuum Line
Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Chevelle Tech forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address. Note, you will be sent a confirmation request to this address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 2:06 PM.


Is there a site like this for?    El Caminos Camaros Novas Impalas GTO Chevy Punch All Chevys

2009 Team Chevelle - AutoForums