What Supercharger Is This??? - Chevelle Tech
Chevelle Tech join team chevelle as a supporting member  
Chevelle Parts at SS396.com      
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Chevelle

Auto Insurance

Chevelles.com is the premier Chevrolet Chevelle Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Performance Our High Performance area

Old Jul 13th, 07, 1:22 AM
Paul aka"Wally"

Default What Supercharger Is This???

HELLO GUYS I AM A NEWBIE, i have a 1981 malibu wagon i am intending on putting this supercharger in, i need to find out for sure what it is, i think its a 162 B&M marine application near as i can tell. any help would be nice, i heard there were some blower guys here that might could help me. thanks ahead of time
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old Jul 13th, 07, 1:37 AM
Bob

Default Re: What Supercharger Is This???

Looks like a standard B&M small block supercharger from the late 80's early 90's. My buddy bought one about 1986 and installed it on a 350 with forged blower pistons and bow tie heads. It ran really well on the street, had about 6psi of boost with the out of the box puleys.

Don't know if they still make these.
Old Jul 13th, 07, 1:46 AM
Paul aka"Wally"

thanks for the response so fast, but i really need to find out what it is for sure, i feel its a B&M 162 marine application. hope to have it in my wagon soon.

Old Jul 13th, 07, 2:31 AM
Lifetime Premium Member
P evaD

Given the oxidation, and rust, I'd say it's from a Marine application. How is it inside?
Leading by example.
Curing cancer, one body panel at a time.
My Chevelle
now
Before
Motorvation
Resurection home page
Old Jul 13th, 07, 3:31 AM
Tech Team
Bryan

Looks like an 80's B&M 144 (144 cu. in.) for small block Chevys. It should also have a tensioner pulley to keep the 10-rib Poly-V belt tight.

Here's a short mention from a book I have, Do-It-Yourself Guide To Street Supercharging, by Pat Ganahl