Team Chevelle banner

550 horse 454?

12K views 23 replies 15 participants last post by  pauls72 
#1 ·
I have a 1975 454 with a TH400, Edelbrock 2-0 performer intake, Holley 770 and I just picked up some 781's for $200, I was wondering if there is anyway I can get 550+ horsepower with the combo. I don't want to shoot nitrous or bore it out. I'm only 14, so I'm still learning, If there is any more specifics needed I can provide them. Budget is not a main focus but I'm trying not to go over $4500. What is the suggested lift/duration. It's going into a 69 El Camino. I'm looking to run High to mid 11's (if it's possible) All advice is GREATLY appreciated!

#2 ·
There is a lot more to it than just the engine. It's also about how effectively and efficiently you put the power to the ground. A dud for a torque converter with highway gears won't do you any good with that goal in mind. Everything mechanical aspect of the car comes into play. Suspension, rear axle, trans set up, etc.

#4 ·
I'm not an engine guru, but I don't believe you will hit that kind of power out of a stocker 454. You can build it to make good torque, but brute horsepower will take a healthy cam. To run a good size cam you are going to want more compression than that 8:1 long block would net. To get a true 500+ horsepower it's going to take some doing. If the 781's are done right with bigger valves, good valve job, and bowl blending they could more than likely get you there, but in the end you would need more compression and more cam.