Is this '67 a "car in barn" deal??? [Archive] - Chevelle Tech

: Is this '67 a "car in barn" deal???


68start
Mar 26th, 05, 11:18 AM
Yes, the car is in a barn, but "could it be" an SS or more? I found this car for sale and it has me wondering if I should follow though on a wild goose chase. I have toooo many unfinished projects as is, so I don't need another. BUT "WHAT IF", it's something special. Can anyone give any ideas of what this car could be? What are the wheels and does that say anything? Here is the ad, minus the location and contact info - sorry. I might be able to share that info since the wife gave me the evil look, but after I think briefly. It's also not local for me to quickly check out.

(((This car has been in a building that is scheduled to be torn down by April 1. I don't believe it runs. It has a big V-8 and a manual transmisson. Title is clear but hasn't been registered since 1988. Will need to be towed off the property. Interior is in good shape. Car looks worse in the pictures than is really is. Needs a good cleaning.))) $1500 obo

pictures on my new picture site:

Thanks,

mj

http://community.webshots.com/user/mike_dana

bcice
Mar 26th, 05, 11:25 AM
What the heck are you waiting for!!?

Bomber '67
Mar 26th, 05, 11:30 AM
For $1,500 you might as well buy, the parts value should at least get you that back.

The two exterior pics only reveal a car with SS emblems. You were that close - why didn't you get the vin number?

Those wheels are off an '80's era "G" body, nothing special - probably just what was available for cheep the last time tires were needed on that car.

Thomas

RacnJsn95
Mar 26th, 05, 11:34 AM
If your wife won't you have it I'd like to know where its at as I am in Oregon also.

barnyard68
Mar 26th, 05, 11:35 AM
Wondering the same thing.....

68start
Mar 26th, 05, 11:55 AM
Those pictures were off the Ad I saw. Believe me, it would be checked out and home, if closer. It's 3 hours away and with easter weekend, not best timing. I love the chase of hunting deals, but just have WAY to many in-progress projects to justify the "drop, run, and look". If my truck sells today (fat chance), I'm heading out of town for sure. I will be happy to share the info to fellow TC people, but give me a few hours to do some thinking. Your guy's advice and ideas "could" help with the wife issue, well see. I would definatly have to sell one or more of my projects if I were to get this one.

I'm sending off an email to the seller now for more info, but ad says call mon-fri 8-5 (darn)

I'm just not as familiar with the '67 to "see" anything from pics.

Thanks,

mj

heff
Mar 26th, 05, 12:17 PM
If you don't want it, I'd be happy paying you a finder's fee, let me know, I'll be back on monday, like everybody else I'm going out of town as well. Thanks Brian

68start
Mar 26th, 05, 2:44 PM
I did what I could to get ahold of the seller. Oh well. I just popped on here to pass along the information onto other TC members. Hopefully the buyer will also join this site so we can follow along on the rebuild. I did what I could. At least the wife feels better, that's more important anyway.

http://www.pdxforsale.com/?ad=143695&cat=5&page=2

http://www.pdxforsale.com/?ad=143797&cat=5

mj

Chris R
Mar 26th, 05, 3:25 PM
At least he got a fair price for it. Not that 1500 wasnt fair. Looks like a good start for someone.

If its been brought to him as a rare car. Its probably a SS and someone knew it. The buyer probably got the vin from him and made the deal.

Proof that they are still out there folks!

Slowpoke70
Mar 26th, 05, 3:44 PM
Proof that they are still out there folks!

Or were out there, at least. :D

RickM
Mar 26th, 05, 4:02 PM
Friend sent this link as a joke about 1 hr after it was posted. Sent the guy an e-mail as fast as I could type. Never got a reply and now can see why. Was kind of wishing not too many folks saw his ad. Oh well,knew it was too good a deal and I'm not lucky enough to score a good deal like this seemed tp be. It's a 3 hr drive for me.

68start
Mar 26th, 05, 6:01 PM
I removed the pics from my photo web page since the ads are posted.

mj

Chris R
Mar 26th, 05, 10:15 PM
That car looks to have been sold before you even posted the add here anyways.

68start
Mar 26th, 05, 10:53 PM
I actually saw the ad late last night, about 20 min AFTER it was posted. But since it was about 11:00pm and I had a very long day, I just went to bed, I didn't need another project anyway. 1st thing this morning I re-thought about it and hopped on and sent the guy an email. I'm sure I was far from 1st place option, but the dream was in my head. While still waiting for a response from the seller, I decided to pass on the car and tell my fellow TC's about the complete ad and share the info to someone else that would want it. If there was some bidding going on for this car, I sure would have passed on it and given every bit of info I had to you guys.

I bet the seller had a real busy day dealing with this car. Hope it goes to a good home and saved from the crusher.

mj

Redmanf1
Mar 27th, 05, 3:46 AM
I talked to the guy at the number given and he said there was no one with that name at his place. He said he had other calls also and must be the wrong number.

Rainer
May 18th, 05, 2:24 AM
Here's an update on this car - I'm guessing the ad was bogus, as these same pictures are also on the "Cars in Barns" website. According to the info there, the car is in Georgia...

http://www.carsinbarns.com/Bowties%20In%20Barns/pg93gm.htm

67Chevelleguy
May 18th, 05, 9:54 AM
Here's an update on this car - I'm guessing the ad was bogus, as these same pictures are also on the "Cars in Barns" website. According to the info there, the car is in Georgia...

http://www.carsinbarns.com/Bowties%20In%20Barns/pg93gm.htm

I was just going to say that.
:beers:

wes

68start
May 18th, 05, 11:22 AM
A few weeks after this ad, another Chevelle project popped up in Bend OR. for only $500 on the same sight. YEP - another picture theft from "carsinbarn" web site. The bottom feeders are all over scamming people these days.

Watch out everyone.

mj