Considering purchasing software online - Any cautions? [Archive] - Chevelle Tech

: Considering purchasing software online - Any cautions?


Cam
Mar 19th, 05, 2:12 PM
We want to purchase Photoshop 7.0 & Adobe Illustrator 10 online as we have found a vendor that sells OEM versions. Naturally I have concerns about security, shipping and possible brokerage / handling fees since we're in Canada and the vender is in the U.S.
Has anyone dealt specifically with "Super Buy Software" http://www.superbuysoftware.homestead.com (http://www.superbuysoftware.homestead.com/) ?
Photoshop is normally very pricey ($549 U.S.) and Illustrator 10 retails for $399, so it is obviously attractive at $99 U.S. each. I realize that the tech support is not there for the OEM versions, but you can register and receive upgrades.

Finally
Mar 19th, 05, 2:31 PM
Perhaps you can register and receive upgrades but they were not meant to be sold separately. Only bundled with a new computer, probably says so right on the packaging "Not to be sold Separately". Now what all the implications of that are I'm not sure but the manufacturer is not obligated to support or provide any upgrades. Also some OEM software will only install on the model computer it was intended for. Say it came bundled with a Dell, it won't install on an HP.

Gene McGill
Mar 19th, 05, 3:45 PM
Those are also not the latest versions of the software, as they are now in the "CS" versions of the software.

Cam
Mar 20th, 05, 2:00 PM
Thank you, gentlemen. I will proceed cautiously and ask appropriate questions of any vendors.