Coppertop
Apr 1st, 03, 9:36 AM
I heard about this a couple days ago, and today rec'd it.
"Looks" official but beware!
Here's the context of the message:
Please verify your information today!
Dear Paypal Member.
Your account has been randomly flagged in our system as a part of our routine security measures. This is a must to ensure that only you have access and use of your paypal account and to ensure a safe Paypal experience. We require all flagged accounts to verify their information on file with us. To verify your information, click here and enter the details requested. After you verify your information, your account shall be returned to good standing and you will continue to have full use of your account.
Thank you for using PayPal!
**************
Upon closer inspection, the "click here" is a phony PayPal link on a porno site server. :(
Just a friendly reminder to look out for this crap.
chevelledude71
Apr 18th, 03, 10:26 PM
I appreciate it, I was going to use paypal in a few minutes. :D
SS70SS
Apr 19th, 03, 5:56 AM
I have got two of these in my email in the last
week. I got ahold of paypal to let them know
about it. :(
Ls6Convertible
Jun 5th, 03, 2:19 PM
Thanks for posting this.i received this also and even though i am well aware of these things happening,it surely looked official.I almost sent the info when i saw the return email adress was support@paypal.com,seemed legit,especially since i had a true paypal problem a few days before....not hard to fall for this stuff....
71BBSSCONV
Jul 12th, 03, 10:11 PM
Something else to be aware of, I was downloading some music off a site & when I got up in the morning, I had discovered that I had received a message thanking me for providing some music to download FROM ME, & it went on to offer some free porno if you go to their particular site.
Sounds more like a scam that since the music business cannot seem to effectively shut down these free music sites, if you go to a some listed site & tell them who you are, BAM, they will come & take you away & fine you heavily.
I have gotten two or three of these in the last couple of days from two different mussic download sitesd, BE CAREFUL!
graemlins/waving.gif
Jim
A.C.E.S. 4996
Frame off red 71 Chevelle SS496 Convertible with white stripes, top & interior loaded with factory options: TH400, cowl induction, power windows, locks, cruise, tilt, top, trunk, 12 bolt 373 posi, A/C, AM-FM 8 track, power drivers bucket seat, mirror map light, trunk, hood, glove box lights, on the wheel GM air pressure gauges, Delco Jac Pac 175 (under hood vacuum powered air compressor) with under dash Delco air pressure controller/regulator, complete with Jac Pac 175 air shocks.
http://chevelle.ogleonline.com/jim.htm
1952 Chevrolet 4 door Deluxe Sedan with a 216.5ci in line 6 with the last RAJO (RAcing JOe) Power Cylinder Head designed by grandfather in the 1940's. Joe designed, built & sold all over the world performance heads during the 20's, 30's & 40's starting with the model T Ford. Joe drove in the FIRST INDY 500 in 1911 as car # 8.
Watch for my SS496 Chevelle as a pace car at Indy in 2011 (100 years after Grandpa Joe) IF THEY WILL LET ME !
DaleM
Mar 22nd, 04, 8:23 AM
Originally posted by 71BBSSCONV:
Something else to be aware of, I was downloading some music off a site & when I got up in the morning, I had discovered that I had received a message thanking me for providing some music to download FROM ME, & it went on to offer some free porno if you go to their particular site.
Check your software settings. They all default to allowing uploads from the same folder you are downloading to. If you left it running all night, chances are someone uploaded from you as well. That's why it's called file 'sharing'.