IGN Terminal on Fuse Block Not Getting Power [Archive] - Chevelle Tech

: IGN Terminal on Fuse Block Not Getting Power


malibu man
Dec 10th, 02, 5:29 PM
I recently had my HEI power wire hooked up to the IGN terminal on the fuse block. But now after I got the engine back in and wired up, there's no power to the IGN terminal when the key is on. Is their a fuse for that terminal anywhere or why wouldn't it work?
Thanks

------------------
Trever Maas
TC Member #: 1432

1972 Chevelle Malibu
Mohave Gold
L65 350/M38 TH350
2.73 AXL RATIO

1948 Chrysler Windsor
Flathead 6/Semi-Auto
4 Speed Column Shift
Fluid Drive Transmission

"Both Undergoing Slow Restorations"

John_Muha
Dec 10th, 02, 9:30 PM
Yes, it is fused but it does not have a separate fuse. That terminal uses one of the fuses in the fuse block. Believe it's the turn signal fuse (99% sure). Second from the bottom, right hand side. The connection between the two is on the rear of the fuse block.

DaleM
Dec 10th, 02, 9:44 PM
It should be fused; at least the one on my 67 is. I don't have any schematics for a 72 wiring system but it but I'm sure someone here has one.

------------------
TC Gold #92/ACES #1709
67 SS & 67 Elky
GR8PMKN (http://www.dalesplace.com/images/chevelle/more_pics/p001182.jpg)

Dale's Place (http://www.dalesplace.com) Team 67 (http://www.team67.com)
Midwest Chevelle Regional Governing Council (http://www.midwestchevelles.com)
Integrity: If you have it, it doesn't matter - If you don't have it, it doesn't matter.

malibu man
Dec 11th, 02, 8:51 AM
Thanks!
I have a shop manual with a schematic but I don't know what to look for. I'll check that turn signal first.

------------------
Trever Maas
TC Member #: 1432

1972 Chevelle Malibu
Mohave Gold
L65 350/M38 TH350
2.73 AXL RATIO

1948 Chrysler Windsor
Flathead 6/Semi-Auto
4 Speed Column Shift
Fluid Drive Transmission

"Both Undergoing Slow Restorations"

Billys68SS
Dec 11th, 02, 2:26 PM
One thing I have run across is the junction block where the wiring harness and the power wire to the battery connect. It should be right behind the battery close to the back of the headlights.
Billy

AdamLym
Dec 11th, 02, 2:34 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Billys68SS:
One thing I have run across is the junction block where the wiring harness and the power wire to the battery connect. It should be right behind the battery close to the back of the headlights.
Billy<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yup, had a loose wire there that had me looking all over the place.

------------------
Adam Layman
1971 Chevelle Malibu
My Webpage (http://www.nd.edu/~alayman/)
Sophomore at Notre Dame
NEW WEBPAGE!

John_Muha
Dec 11th, 02, 3:24 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by AdamLym:
Yup, had a loose wire there that had me looking all over the place.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

72 doesn't have a block behind the battery. The car is a little different than the other years.

AdamLym
Dec 11th, 02, 4:12 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by John_Muha:
72 doesn't have a block behind the battery. The car is a little different than the other years.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Thanks for the correction John, I didnt know that.

Some help I am http://www.chevelles.com/forum/rolleyes.gif http://www.chevelles.com/forum/biggrin.gif

------------------
Adam Layman
1971 Chevelle Malibu
My Webpage (http://www.nd.edu/~alayman/)
Sophomore at Notre Dame
NEW WEBPAGE!

malibu man
Dec 11th, 02, 4:28 PM
It was the signal fuse. It works now.
Thanks

------------------
Trever Maas
TC Member #: 1432

1972 Chevelle Malibu
Mohave Gold
L65 350/M38 TH350
2.73 AXL RATIO

1948 Chrysler Windsor
Flathead 6/Semi-Auto
4 Speed Column Shift
Fluid Drive Transmission

"Both Undergoing Slow Restorations"

John_Muha
Dec 11th, 02, 5:50 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by AdamLym:
Thanks for the correction John, I didnt know that.

Some help I am http://www.chevelles.com/forum/rolleyes.gif http://www.chevelles.com/forum/biggrin.gif
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Adam. You are a great help. The only advantage I have is that I've had my 72 for over 31 years. Couldn't find that block either the first time I looked for it. Also if you have a problem with that block you wouldn't have power on the BAT terminal either. The line on the block is the input line to the fuse block.


<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by malibu man:
It was the signal fuse. It works now.
Thanks
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Great. Another deed done dirt cheap.