Ignition switch and CD player problems [Archive] - Chevelle Tech

: Ignition switch and CD player problems

fijiman
Aug 26th, 03, 5:33 PM
After having someone maul my steering collumn while trying to steal my car, I had to have the steering collumn replaced. I decided to pay the guy at the garage to handle the headache for me. He found a collumn in a '72 Malibu and put it in my '71.

For the most part it works better than the original, except for the fact that every time I turn my car off, my CD player resets. Clock goes to 12:00, all my preset stations reset to factory settings, I lose my custom equalizer settings. This is something I can live with, but it is kinda annoying. My guess is it is something to do with the ignition switch, but I'm no Electrical Engineer so I don't know where to start fixing it.

Has anyone had this happen to them? If so how did you fix it? Anybody have a suggestion as to where I should start looking for the problem?

John_Muha
Aug 26th, 03, 6:20 PM
There's a wire from your CD player that holds the memory settings. Someone has it hooked up wrong. Guessing maybe an orange wire but consult the radio's owners manual.
Some installers hook this up to the cigarette lighter wiring while others run it over to the BAT terminal on the fuse block. The BAT (battery) terminal has power on it with the key off to hold the memory settings. It sounds like this wire may have been moved to the IGN (ignition) terminal on the fuseblock.
Your garage guy may have moved the stereo wires out of the way and just plugged the memory wire on the IGN or ACC instead of the BAT.

Slowpoke70
Oct 4th, 03, 5:58 PM
okay, my car's stereo does the same thing. do i have to splice into the dash harness to connect the "memory" wire to BAT fuse? currently my kenwood spits out CDs (when turning on the car) and un-programs the sations and settings.