C-Clip elminator [Archive] - Chevelle Tech

: C-Clip elminator

Big Earl
May 6th, 10, 8:45 AM
I'm running a set of C-Clip Eliminators on a 12 bolt rear end with GM axles. The Q's I have is, does any one have a detail diagram as how to remove the axles and clips ie. do I have to remove the center inspection cover? I've got a leak which I guess is not uncommon that needs to be fixed. I've never worked on these before and don't want to do screw up. So any basic info. or tricks of the trade would be great.

Big Earl

VinceS427bb
May 6th, 10, 1:29 PM
c-clip eliminators should have bolts from the axle flange into the bearing retainer assy.
pull wheel+brake drum, unbolt the 4-bolts holding the axle to the bearing retainer assy.
pull axle assy out for reseal of the eliminator kit. :)

Big Earl
May 6th, 10, 3:13 PM
Thanks Vince.......

Wasn't sure if it was as simple as I thought.

Sorry for post it in the wrong spot... Just noticed it now

Big Earl

Big Earl
May 6th, 10, 10:10 PM
Got one more Q's. I've got rear drums and the E brake lever assembly is missing. I'm just wondering will I be able to use this lever assembly with the C-clip eliminator blocks? It looks like there might be room but the way things are going I'm not sure. If any one is using this set up could you let me know. :sad:

Thanks, Big Earl

VinceS427bb
May 7th, 10, 1:52 PM
e-brake works with the e-kit
mine was on the stock drums
and now the bigger 11''-drums :)

Big Earl
May 7th, 10, 2:05 PM
Vince..

So I take it that you had to change everything from backing plate hardware the works? Also could you give more info. on this e kit?

Thanks, Big Earl

VinceS427bb
May 7th, 10, 3:51 PM
Vince..

So I take it that you had to change everything from backing plate hardware the works? Also could you give more info. on this e kit?

Thanks, Big Earl
i was using all stock hardware from the 10-12bolt rear axle
if you need some you should be able to find good stock parts for free:thumbsup: