I thought the tag team would enjoy this one [Archive] - Chevelle Tech

: I thought the tag team would enjoy this one


ChevelleSSWanabe
Jun 24th, 04, 7:48 PM
Check out this "real SS" on ebay. I contacted the "seller" and he said the burden of proof is on the buyer. It just doesn't seem right to me.

Anyway..........

I'm sure he'd love a lot of feedback from you guys. graemlins/thumbsup.gif

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2482613272

From his note:
Well if you can't find or disprove it as an expert on the subject with the
information that is provided off the car, that how am I misleading? All we
have to go by is the cowl tag and the vin # . This is the only information
that I have in my defense. I know this I am going to sell this car one way
or another to someone at a fair price, for if nothing else the sher
condition of this 1969 model car. It is nicely restored and well done,
inside and out. Numbers and spec can't take away from a sweet paint job and
throaty exhaust! These cars are not going in museums they are going to
people that are looking for a car that reminds them of the one they rode to
school in or had there first date in. You seem to know alot about numbers
and specs and such, which is great! I was just wondering why are you looking
at the Chevelle? Did you grow up with one? Ready to hot rod one? Or looking
to turn a few dollars? I answer all of the above!

I hope we can come to an agreement. And if not that you for all of the
interesting redading.

Sincerely,

Richard Fahrenthold
Internet Manager
Kingwood Imports
281-312-6276 direct
832-527-8800 mobile
rf@kingwoodauto.com
www.kingwoodauto.com (http://www.kingwoodauto.com)

Don_Lightfoot
Jun 24th, 04, 10:16 PM
I looked at this ad a few days ago. I was going to place a note to TCer "Von" pointing out the car was coded Garnet Red and it was repainted Blue to get his reaction :D :D

Anyway, in the ad they are saying "True" SS, but apparently nothing to prove it. They have also kind of said "what you see is what you get". They are a little misleading here, but that is normal from most dealer ads you see. I would prefer people just be up front by saying something like "We believe this to be a real SS, however there is no documentation" and leave it at that.

DaleM
Jun 25th, 04, 2:12 AM
Two things that get him off the "real SS" hook.

1. This is a true 1969 Chevelle/Malibu 396 CI car! ~ It is a true 1969 Malibu and it has a 396 engine...doesn't come out and claim a SS396.
2. Some of the upgrades include flowmaster exhaust, power steering and SS wheels. ~ upgraded with SS wheels.

The one line that's false is under the trim tag decoding, he shows 13637 as 2DR MALIBU/CHEVELLE SPORT COUPE SS396 OPTION. Take it with a grain of salt...he's a KIA dealer and also says that 474638 - VIN IDENTIFICATION NUMBER. VIN is an acronym for Vehicle Identification Number. VIN IDENTIFICATION NUMBER is straight from the Office of Redundancy Office. :D

Seat covers are missing the buttons and the seams are baggy. Even if it's not a 'real' SS car, it doesn't look too bad depending on the reserve.

ChevelleSSWanabe
Jun 25th, 04, 8:43 AM
I agree with you guys. I told him it looks like a $12,000 Malibu. I just hate to see someone pay for an SS.

I'm still looking for a car (68-70 "real SS"). I'm in Michigan. If you guys know of a nice car, looking for a good home, please keep me in mind.

Mark

mike69ss
Jun 25th, 04, 9:28 AM
I like the tire size on the car -- anyone have an idea what they might be?

Rich-L79
Jun 25th, 04, 12:00 PM
Isn't that a Malibu grill on the car?

1bad67
Jun 25th, 04, 12:08 PM
A/C dash, plated fire wall, auto trans tunnel, and the cluth pedal looks funky to me, doesn't match the brake pedal?

Nice paint needs work, aerosal resto.

ChevelleSSWanabe
Jun 25th, 04, 6:48 PM
Here's his latest rebuttal.

You've got to love the intellect. Or, is it passive aggressive behavior?

From: "Richard Farenthold" To:
Subject: RE: Reply: Chevelle
Date: Fri, 25 Jun 2004 03:42:54 +0000

We have been doing this for 15 years. Get a life!

TripleWhiteSS454
Jun 25th, 04, 8:06 PM
Well, this dealers responses certainly aren't going to gain him any new customers. Perhaps this guy was fooled and is trying to recoup his money by selling on Ebay? After all, he's only been doing this for 15 years ... :D

John_Muha
Jun 26th, 04, 12:09 AM
Originally posted by ChevelleSSWanabe:
Did you grow up with one? Yep, I guess a few around here did. I'm a newbe at 33 years having the thing. Others around here have me beat.

macs69
Jun 26th, 04, 7:46 AM
He also forgot to put the headrests back on.

elcamino
Jun 26th, 04, 6:56 PM
These guys (used car salesman) are only about making money, nothing else. They hunt out these cars and make them look good and rope in the $$$$$ from someone who just has to have it.

Many here can remember their first car, they just had to have no matter what and thats the buyers these sellers are looking for. To 99.5% its only a car and nothing else, weather its a real SS is of little concern, its all about being trendy.