: W.i.w?
randy lewis Dec 19th, 08, 6:42 PM Please, forgive my computer skills I don't know how to post pics and such. I know one day I'll learn but, this is exactly the car (colors, options) my wife and I would love to own and are in the market for.
E-bay item #350134300257.
Also at expoclassiccars.com. The sellers site, has more pics as well as one of the build sheets and the P.O.P.
I did search here and have not found this car discussed. Does anyone know the details, has anyone had an eyeball on it?
What do you folks see that are positives or negatives or send up a red flag, is that the correct factory color for the underside?
lloydt2442 Dec 19th, 08, 6:58 PM http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ru=http%3A%2F%2Fsearch.ebay.com%3A80%2Fsearch%2Fse arch.dll%3Ffrom%3DR40%26_trksid%3Dm37.l1313%26sati tle%3D350134300257%26category0%3D%26fvi%3D1&item=350134300257&viewitem=
randy lewis Dec 19th, 08, 7:28 PM Thank you.
704EVER Dec 19th, 08, 7:32 PM Hey Randy, first off, not to knock the car or seller because a lot of people here have been getting sensitive with these types of questions but you asked and I'll try to answer your question. For me it's a very poor ad to begin with. A real LS6 is worth a very lot of money depending on very specific things. Such as the pad stamp of the motor, tranny, rearend, date codes and originality of the all important components that would be original to an LS6. I see none of the above posted or mentioned in this ad. I'm not buying the "Looks Great" description. They ALL look great in photos, the real question is, "Is it real"? There are several red flags just by the photos, if you are truly interested, ask for pictures of all the stampings and see what they say. If they send them, post them up here and the guys in the know will take a look to see if the car warrants further investigation. For this kind of coin, you need a pro to advise you, it's called doing your homework! :thumbsup:
Dave Birdwell Dec 19th, 08, 7:43 PM The seller of the car sent me a picture of the build sheet, it is legitimate. Looks like a fairly decent car, but the LS6's just aren't doing 120 large right now.
704EVER Dec 19th, 08, 7:47 PM The seller of the car sent me a picture of the build sheet, it is legitimate. Looks like a fairly decent car, but the LS6's just aren't doing 120 large right now.
Hey Dave, the sheet looked good to me also but is the motor and drive train original to the car? What about components any info on them?
randy lewis Dec 19th, 08, 7:59 PM I don't know that much about it yet thats why I posted it here first to see if anybody just out of curiosity who lives by there may have put a hand on it. My wife put in a call to the car co. today and found out from the selling dealer who also says he owns it.
It is a fresh restoration, car was bought from the original owners wife after the mr. passed in 2001, the 2nd buyer had it and then in 2005/6 restored it and sold it and now these guys have it.
As far as the originally of the drivetrain that is yet to be determined allthough the selling dealer says it is a two owner car aside from them and that the second owner is the guy who restored it sooooo...... lets dig deeper shall we?
I like it and its what we are looking for to the T.
I'm in IL. and this cars in TX., I'm gonna call tomorrow and see if they have before, during pics of the resto for a car of this caliber if I was the one running the restoration in 2005/6 with the market at its peak I sure of heck would have documented each and every part as well as the entire process with docs and pics.
fishhead Dec 19th, 08, 9:23 PM hi randy...
with a purchase like that you would want to be sure you get your monies worth...
I myself am not an expert by any means but I know the easy stuff...when I look at a car that I think is fairly correct these guys chime in with all kinds of faults and history on the car in question and impress me all the time.
All I can say is keep your eyes on things and if someone tells you to be aware of something or check a certain thing out then you should do it.
Welcome and merry christmas
oldtimebaseballfan Dec 19th, 08, 9:26 PM Looks clean. But not detailed for 120k, especially in this market.
Why would someone spend the time and money to restore a valuable car and not put the small medallions on the seat-backs.
There are a few other items but they are more costly.
bigskycountry Dec 19th, 08, 10:34 PM Nice looking car, however not quite the ad I would write if the car is indeed everything it is suppose to be. If it were a true numbers matching car, every number should be in the ad, or made available to a prospective buyer, prior to a personal inspection. The car may look nice, but not $119,000 nice. If you are that serious about the car, fly down with someone who has restored this caliber of vehicle before, their knowledge will be priceless. I think that you can attain far more knowledge of the car though prior to a visit to the dealer, through a couple more phone calls to them about resto pics, and number verification.
Dave Birdwell Dec 20th, 08, 11:29 AM Nice looking car, however not quite the ad I would write if the car is indeed everything it is suppose to be. If it were a true numbers matching car, every number should be in the ad, or made available to a prospective buyer, prior to a personal inspection. The car may look nice, but not $119,000 nice. If you are that serious about the car, fly down with someone who has restored this caliber of vehicle before, their knowledge will be priceless. I think that you can attain far more knowledge of the car though prior to a visit to the dealer, through a couple more phone calls to them about resto pics, and number verification.
This is wise advice, and spending a little now could save you a lot of greif later....:yes:
mr 4 speed Dec 20th, 08, 1:34 PM no seat medallions,repo tach..nice car but not 119K nice...IMHO with this market...more like 75-85K or so
Dave Birdwell Dec 20th, 08, 3:35 PM Wow, Chris....20,000 posts...you trying to catch Dean?? :D
I didn't ask for pics of the block etc. I was looking to see if it was real first.
Bunz-T Dec 20th, 08, 3:42 PM Here are some problems I see with the car and the situation.
1. It is in the hands off a dealer. That speaks volumes.
2. It is in Houston Texas. The acceptance level of a chevelle in Texas is so different than most places. I do not know of anyone who might give you an accurate appraisal that extends much further than the quality of the build. Here there is so much else to consider. It is a short list of people that can give an idea of how much more to add because it is an LS-6. I would think at over $100K you would be spending your time hunting a true expert and have him on a plane down there. Too much money involved to take anything for granted.
3. It is too much Money.:yes:
mr 4 speed Dec 21st, 08, 8:09 AM Anyone else see the other 70 SS this dealer has for sale?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Cars-Trucks___1970-Chevrolet-Chevelle-SS-4396-4-Speed-Beautiful_W0QQitemZ360117831659QQddnZCarsQ20Q26Q20 TrucksQQddiZ2282QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUS_Cars_Trucks? hash=item360117831659&_trksid=p4506.c0.m245&_trkparms=65%3A7%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318
$44,900 ???!!! :noway:
More like $24,900
Take a good luck at the photos...under the hood especially :eek:
Their pricing "structure" is pretty apparent! :D
Don't get me wrong..its appears to be a decent car..but I get pretty critical when someone takes a driver quality car and tries to sell it for $44K
Dave Birdwell Dec 21st, 08, 12:16 PM But did anyone notice that the original price of the LS6 was like $139,900?? It's on SALE at $119,000.... :noway:
| |