What Type Of Scam Is This? [Archive] - Chevelle Tech

: What Type Of Scam Is This?


matt60j
Jun 24th, 08, 12:30 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Cars-Trucks___1967-CLASSIC-CHEVELLE-SS-CONVERTIBLE_W0QQitemZ170232557499QQddnZCarsQ20Q26Q 20TrucksQQddiZ2282QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item17023255 7499&

spikeruhl
Jun 24th, 08, 12:39 PM
There is no way that is legit.
Stay away, far away.

BrentsChevelle
Jun 24th, 08, 12:45 PM
Run, Forrest, run!

TCSS1970
Jun 24th, 08, 1:06 PM
One were someone in Napal gets your money!!!!!:yes:

blubu
Jun 24th, 08, 1:31 PM
You can bet the farm this is a scam and has bee done before the address is the secret and I can assure you there will be some hinky things to do to acquire this car
I seen a red roadster 66 corvette for 6900.00 overseas he just needed the money shipped to him so he could ship it to you up front. ALSO NO QUESTIONS ON MAIL
Contact him personally. I would not touch this car unless it was in my front yard with the registered owner ready to have it notarized after a check for liens
Then I would still be skeptical. There should be something done about these scams
It gives everyone in the sport a bad name. ESPECIALLY E.BAY

matt60j
Jun 24th, 08, 1:44 PM
Yeah it says no e-mails but I e-mailed him and told him I would take 2 for that price.

Pro68Camaro
Jun 24th, 08, 1:52 PM
I looked at it pretty hard and couldn't find the break. No doubt it is a scam and somebody hijacked the seller's ebay handle/feedback. There's a pic of his "email me here with questions" at the bottom of the auction which is not how it works when you list something. It's part of the text of the auction normally. I'm tempted to do the buy it now to see where it wants me to send the $500 deposit just to jack with the guy.

beartoothweb
Jun 24th, 08, 2:22 PM
I saw that last night listed in COMPLETED items for that same price, so it appears he's running the scam over and over again. Let's hope no one falls for it.

huffhuff
Jun 24th, 08, 2:22 PM
his feedbacks are all as a buyer.

Racing
Jun 24th, 08, 5:06 PM
his feedbacks are all as a buyer.

12 as a seller.

animal69
Jun 24th, 08, 5:26 PM
his feedbacks are all as a buyer.

12 as a seller.

They're probably not his feedback but the guys whose ID he stoled.

Sid Coleman
Jun 24th, 08, 6:09 PM
I emailed the seller thru ebay (what he said NOT to do) and gave them a heads-up, also reported it to ebay as a possible scam. My good deeds for the day :D

1badss396
Jun 24th, 08, 6:18 PM
I emailed the seller thru ebay (what he said NOT to do) and gave them a heads-up, also reported it to ebay as a possible scam. My good deeds for the day :DAttta Boy Sid:D give that man a cookie and a beer

Sid Coleman
Jun 25th, 08, 12:57 AM
Auction closed!!! :D

dscabra
Jun 25th, 08, 1:05 AM
The listing is gone now, but if it stated that the car could be purchased for $6900 if you call the seller directly, but buyers are told not to bid on the auction site, then here is what I found last year while playing with one of these bafoons. Once you contact the seller (scammer), he will ask for your eBay ID and your address so that "he can send you an offer to buy the car." The offer is emailed to you with all the look and feel that it came from eBay (except for the typos). In the offer, the scammer will provide instructions on where to send the "deposit" using Western Union. Since he is only asking for part of the money up front, people feel like its probably safe. He wants you to provide him with the details of the Western Union transaction before shipping the car. If someone falls for this scam, your money will be picked up as soon as the scammer has the details of the transaction, and you will never hear from him again. Check out this thread from last year that I posted as I was stringing one of these idiots along.

http://www.chevelles.com/forums/showthread.php?t=187473&highlight=scam+eBay

Dave