: Is this '66 Vert Worth $35k +
cfChevelle Jun 17th, 08, 9:08 AM My neighbor 2 doors down is in the market for a convertible. He's got the $$$ and he like this Chevelle. I don't know much about '66s, is this car worth $40k? That's the price I figure it will go for. Thanks!
- Chevelle SS 396/360,Convert,All # Match,SEE THE VIDEO,Show Car (http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-53200-19255-0/1?campid=5335821138&customid=chev-posted&toolid=10001&mpre=http%3A%2F%2Fcgi%2Eebay%2Ecom%2Fws%2FeBayISAP I%2Edll%3FViewItem%26item%3D190229582195%26ih%3D00 9%26category%3D6164%26ssPageName%3DWDVW%26rd%3D1)
69396ss Jun 17th, 08, 9:16 AM The Dealer may be prouder of that one than you think ;)
66 MYSTERY CHEVELLE Jun 17th, 08, 9:37 AM I can't open links to the bay or otherwise where I am at, but is this is the Marina Blue 66 SS with a you tube like video of a car sitting in a dealer showroom?? The one where he says it has the CORRECT wheels too?
Mike Crown
DaleM Jun 17th, 08, 9:48 AM I can't open links to the bay or otherwise where I am at, but is this is the Marina Blue 66 SS with a you tube like video of a car sitting in a dealer showroom?? The one where he says it has the CORRECT wheels too?
Mike CrownI think that's it, Mike. I didn't find where seller said the wheels are correct, just, "The Wheels are perfect." Wrong for the car, but maybe they're in 'perfect' condition. ;) Originally Danube Blue.
http://i8.ebayimg.com/07/i/000/f7/2c/2602_3.JPG
BillsCamino Jun 17th, 08, 9:51 AM Another pic...
http://i6.ebayimg.com/07/i/000/f7/2c/53f5_12.JPG
66 MYSTERY CHEVELLE Jun 17th, 08, 10:02 AM I think that's it, Mike. I didn't find where seller said the wheels are correct, just, "The Wheels are perfect." Wrong for the car, but maybe they're in 'perfect' condition. ;) Originally Danube Blue.
http://i8.ebayimg.com/07/i/000/f7/2c/2602_3.JPG
You may be right Dale, I just recall looking at the video and hearing the guy say something about the wheels.. minor thing obviously...I do recall that it was typical dealer... VERY PROUD of this $100K plus car :noway::noway: but again, maybe I am wrong.. photos are not coming up that are being posted here....
Original E1 car I think, yes, Danube Blue... I would need to look at it again, detail wise.. original engine deck stamp?? Trans VIN stamp? all the things that make a car even possibly be worth that kind of bread.. I do recall not for a second thinking it was worth 6 digits :confused: There are in my opinion very few out there and there are some... bringing that kind of money.. but they are close to perfect in detail for originality., and have as much as we can.. verifiable paper documentation and verifiable original drivetrain components... along with QUALITY of Workmanship!
Mike
DaleM Jun 17th, 08, 10:04 AM The fake L78 red convertible is back again as well at $69,990. :sad:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&sspagename=ADME%3AB%3ASS%3AUS%3A1123&viewitem=&item=110262785382#mainImage
http://carad.ebayimg.com/i9/03/a/000/78/c7/7eb7_4.JPG
69396ss Jun 17th, 08, 10:49 AM I'm Sorry, but Damn that Fake L78 is pretty. (A few incorrect details)
But I bet it cost within 10K of that to build it.
That's the problem with building nice cars.
If you want it pretty, it's going to cost you.
Real or not.
rbwjr325 Jun 17th, 08, 3:36 PM Nice..,35,40 Gs? Not that nice.If you talk to the seller tell him I have the correct Harrison radiator,WITH, finger guard for that car for sale,trade.Details,,,
ToocoolZ28 Jun 17th, 08, 10:43 PM I see cars like the blue one go for $40000 all the time. I dont see a problem. Worth it? You judge, but the fact remains that they sell at that level.
Ron
66 MYSTERY CHEVELLE Jun 17th, 08, 11:15 PM Ron, $40K is not an issue on a 66 SS Convert. But I think the guys says it is a $100K plus car :noway:
ToocoolZ28 Jun 17th, 08, 11:39 PM Ron, $40K is not an issue on a 66 SS Convert. But I think the guys says it is a $100K plus car :noway:OK, I was just responding to his statement that he thought it would go for $40000. $100,000? Not from what I see here.
Ron
lloydt2442 Jun 17th, 08, 11:47 PM The fake L78 red convertible is back again as well at $69,990. :sad:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&sspagename=ADME%3AB%3ASS%3AUS%3A1123&viewitem=&item=110262785382#mainImage
http://carad.ebayimg.com/i9/03/a/000/78/c7/7eb7_4.JPG
did they not make an L78 vert or something? or are there just so many things wrong with it you are just saying fake!? sorry just not real up to date with the 66 chevelles how about this one!? http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Cars-Trucks___1966-L78-396-375h-p-Convertable_W0QQitemZ220246742393QQddnZCarsQ20Q26Q 20TrucksQQddiZ2282QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item22024674 2393&
66 MYSTERY CHEVELLE Jun 18th, 08, 12:24 AM did they not make an L78 vert or something? or are there just so many things wrong with it you are just saying fake!? sorry just not real up to date with the 66 chevelles how about this one!? http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Cars-Trucks___1966-L78-396-375h-p-Convertable_W0QQitemZ220246742393QQddnZCarsQ20Q26Q 20TrucksQQddiZ2282QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item22024674 2393&
YES, they made 66 L-78 Verts.. and yes, there are many things wrong this one, and YES, it was discussed many many times here at TC and felt to be a FAKED car, restamp or what have you.. sorry if many of us don't rehash some of these things, but some things were discussed at nauseum in the past and so we just refer folks to the SEARCH function...:yes:
as for the one you linked.. where to begin??? Nice lookin car, but far from correct... it's amodified car. PERIOD CORRECT means just that.. Non original engine.... several details under hood missed, wrong tires and wheels, wrong spatter paint in trunk, wrong exhaust system, wrong color Convert. top., interior metals too shiny... should be a powerglide car and not a 4 speed...bumper guards in wrong place, brakes upgraded, 67 style seatbelt retainers, gas tank straps should be Black, headlight extensions are done in Malibu version, should be blacked out to match Grill.......nice lookin car, but nothing special from what I can see.. unless he is not looking for huge money, which then it might be a fine car to buy if someone is looking for a 66 SS Convert. and I realize they don't all have to be 100% original Restored to factory correct to be nice or to bring big money.. just pointing a few of many items out that are incorrect from a restored to original standpoint.
Mikeys69 Jun 18th, 08, 12:35 AM I like the RED hardtop...:thumbsup:
DaleM Jun 18th, 08, 12:37 AM did they not make an L78 vert or something? or are there just so many things wrong with it you are just saying fake!? sorry just not real up to date with the 66 chevellesQuick synopsis. The same car was being sold on eBay in February of 2007. Problem is the trim tag showed the car to be a SS396 convertible, yes. But it also showed a Powerglide transmission on the trim tag. No Powerglide possible with the L78. Even had the partial VIN stamped on the block. Car was discussed at length and suspect the seller got wind of the discussion.
Spring ahead to November of 2007 and the car shows up again but this time the trim tag indicates a 4-speed transmission. Didn't bother changing body number or data processing number on tag to throw anyone off, nope, just changed the Powerglide option code to a 4-speed option code.
So you have a 325hp or 360hp 396/Powerglide SS car with that car's correct partial VIN on a, supposedly, numbers matching original L78. :noway:
DaleM Jun 18th, 08, 12:46 AM ... how about this one!? http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Cars-Trucks___1966-L78-396-375h-p-Convertable_W0QQitemZ220246742393QQddnZCarsQ20Q26Q 20TrucksQQddiZ2282QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item22024674 2393&
At least they are honest saying it's a 'period correct' L78 - even though visible engine items are incorrect - but at least the ad copy is honest. Note it too has a Powerglide indicated on the trim tag.
| |