floor shifter for 700R4 transmission [Archive] - Chevelle Tech

: floor shifter for 700R4 transmission

fuzz68
Aug 11th, 04, 4:45 AM
Hey everyone,

I've got a couple of things to bring up here, all centered around the fact that I want to put a floor shifter in my 700R4 equipped Chevelle. I'm still somewhat new to the scene so please excuse me for being naive at all.

First of all, I've heard that B&M's Quicksilver is a solid shifter to use. However, I've browsed websites and some say it fits the 700R4 and some say it don't. Might anyone be able to clear this up for me? Perhaps someone using a Quicksilver shifter on a 700R4...

Secondly, for anyone with floor shifter/700R4 experience, is there any shifter out there that you may think is best suited for the 700R4? Any stories and/or recommendations? I would appreciate them greatly.

Thanks to anyone reading my post. Peace graemlins/beers.gif

dirtrocker
Aug 11th, 04, 7:03 AM
I'm pretty sure you can use stock stuff and get a conversion kit from shiftworks.

67Super Sport
Aug 11th, 04, 9:35 AM
GO to B&M's web site. They have all their shifters listed and what trans they will work with. And yes the Quicksilver will work with a 700R4. If you are going to drive it on the strip and want a dependable shifter get the Pro Stick or Pro Ratchet. I used a Megashifter and had some problems with the shifter skipping drive and going straight into N. For a street vehicle just pick one that you think would best suite you and your ride.

http://www.bmracing.com

Bobalos
Aug 11th, 04, 12:02 PM
Im a fan of the Mega Shifter. I had one in my Camaro on my 700R4 & that was enough to hook me on those shifters. I put one in my roadster on my C4 & now have one in my 66 Chevelle on the TH400.

They can be tricky to adj in, but they work fine once adjusted in. I found out later that the bracket on the trans was modified a little to get better geometry for the 700/200r's.

Bob

70_FathomBlueMalibu
Aug 11th, 04, 3:01 PM