Something Wrong Here? Chevelle LS5 for $5800? [Archive] - Chevelle Tech

: Something Wrong Here? Chevelle LS5 for $5800?


Bandit1978
Jul 28th, 07, 8:43 PM
This is the reply I got when I asked for pictures..also the auction states paypal only..is this legit???

Ebay auction #300135087226


Hello,
I'm glad that you're interested in my Chevrolet Chevelle. The car is in good working condition it comes with all the documents needed for registration and it has a clear title. I am willing to sell it for $5800 (final sale price). My name is Richard Wilson. I'm located in Seymour TN (37865) and the car is here as well. I am a member of MissionFish (see www.missionfish.org) and the item you are buying is enrolled in the ebay eBay Giving Works program (is the dedicated program for charity listings where you can buy items to support nonprofit organizations).See how it works at: http://www.missionfish.org/About/howitworks.jsp 100% of the final sale price will support Alliance for Families with Deaf Children ( see http://www.affwdc.org/ ).
If you will buy the car from me,you must use it for "personal use only", you must know you can't resell it in less than 3 years and the resell value must be " = " or " < " than $5,800 (you can't resell it for profit). Do you agree?
! DO NOT BID ON THE CAR AS I CAN'T SELL THE CAR FOR MORE THAN $5,800
I pray God almigthy will see you through in any thing you are into and i will pray for you!
I truly wish you the very best!
Richard
PS: I'll need your phone number, after we will set up all the details I'll give you a call to confirm the terms. Until than NO CALLS, there are too many buyers interested and I can't talk to all of them.

Mixtimp
Jul 28th, 07, 8:47 PM
HAHAHAHA, a lot of scams on eBay. Give it 24 hours, and the auction will be removed. Please do not be sucked in to these BS scams. I've investigated several eBay scams over the past 2 years, and we actually made several arrests here in Palm Beach County.

I hate to sound like a cliche'd broken record, but "If it's too good to be true, you better believe it is!"

Mixtimp
Jul 28th, 07, 8:49 PM
BUT.... if you do decide to send this guy $5800 for this car, I have this bridge, with papers so you can register it, I'd like to sell you.

Bandit1978
Jul 28th, 07, 8:52 PM
BUT.... if you do decide to send this guy $5800 for this car, I have this bridge, with papers so you can register it, I'd like to sell you.

I'll Pass on the bridge..but I am looking for a good 71-72 SS chevelle...

Lionel-n-Chevelles
Jul 28th, 07, 10:54 PM
Forward your e-mail from the seller to spoof@ebay.com so ebay can investigate.
If it is too good to be true, it probably is.

dscabra
Jul 28th, 07, 11:08 PM
Selling a car on eBay and the best you can do is one picture of the interior?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&viewitem=&ru=http%3A%2F%2Fsearch.ebay.com%3A80%2Fsearch%2Fse arch.dll%3Ffrom%3DR40%26_trksid%3Dm37%26satitle%3D 300135087226%26category0%3D%26fvi%3D1&item=300135087226

Also, If he can't take more than $5800 for the car, then why sell it in an auction? Why not offer it at a fixed price? Too many red flags. :noway:

dirtrocker
Jul 29th, 07, 1:15 AM
I asked if I could see the car, let's see what happens :D

dscabra
Aug 3rd, 07, 7:33 PM
The auction ended with no bids. Funny thing is, there were several bids at one point during the auction.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=020&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&viewitem=&item=300135087226&rd=1

ls6ragtop
Aug 3rd, 07, 8:07 PM
Am I the only one who noticed that the picture of the interior clearly shows a 4-speed shifter while the description lists the transmission as an automatic? Definate scam.
Chris

Lionel-n-Chevelles
Aug 5th, 07, 6:04 AM
This is the reply I got when I asked for pictures..also the auction states paypal only..is this legit???

Ebay auction #300135087226


Hello,
I'm glad that you're interested in my Chevrolet Chevelle. The car is in good working condition it comes with all the documents needed for registration and it has a clear title. I am willing to sell it for $5800 (final sale price). My name is Richard Wilson. I'm located in Seymour TN (37865) and the car is here as well. I am a member of MissionFish (see www.missionfish.org) and the item you are buying is enrolled in the ebay eBay Giving Works program (is the dedicated program for charity listings where you can buy items to support nonprofit organizations).See how it works at: http://www.missionfish.org/About/howitworks.jsp 100% of the final sale price will support Alliance for Families with Deaf Children ( see http://www.affwdc.org/ ).
If you will buy the car from me,you must use it for "personal use only", you must know you can't resell it in less than 3 years and the resell value must be " = " or " < " than $5,800 (you can't resell it for profit). Do you agree?
! DO NOT BID ON THE CAR AS I CAN'T SELL THE CAR FOR MORE THAN $5,800
I pray God almigthy will see you through in any thing you are into and i will pray for you!
I truly wish you the very best!
Richard
PS: I'll need your phone number, after we will set up all the details I'll give you a call to confirm the terms. Until than NO CALLS, there are too many buyers interested and I can't talk to all of them.
The only problem is that his auction says that the car is in Texas.

End time: Aug-09-07 22:22:50 PDT (4 days 19 hours)
Shipping: See item description for shipping details.
Sells to: United States
Item location: Woodway, TX, United States
History: 10 bids
High bidder: Bidder 24