: Scam warning
J early Jan 17th, 07, 1:08 PM This guy ripped me off $1,035 on the following team chevelle classified ad.
http://www.chevelles.com/classifieds/showproduct.php?product=9089
I sent him a cashiers check, I have proof he cashed it (copy of the check) and he vanished. He is also trying to sell a set of heads on www.moparts.com under the name MonacoGP. I would like people to be aware of his e-mail
okcorrral@gmail.com
He is out of New York and uses a UPS store mailbox at John Aviles 19418 Norther BLVD, #325 in Flushing NY, 11358. The phone # in the add is disconnected but there is another that is still connected at 646-429-2131. If someone has any possible info on this guy, please PM me. Otherwise feel free to call or email him with your thoughts on screwing a fellow team chevelle member.
ChaosEnvy Jan 17th, 07, 2:31 PM Sorry to hear about that. In the future make all online transaction via a third party. Something like paypal. There are many of them out there. This way you have can get buyer protection. There is this one company, cannot remember the name, but this is what they do. The seller sends them the item. You send them the money. When they receive both, they send the money to the seller and the item to you. This way, both parties can be comfortable with the purchase. If the buyer or seller drops out of the deal, then no one loses anything, but time, and a nominal fee for the service.
People finder, it will cost you, but can tell you just about anything about the guy.
67 malibu mars Jan 18th, 07, 2:11 PM i had the same problem in classifieds for a set of heads for my small block with a guy named chris keleher. i never recieved my heads and he avoids my emails. i sent my money in august, got an email in october that he sent them to the wrong address because he does alot of business and got mixed up. he said he would refund my money by beginning of november and still no money i email him and i dont get a reply.
so good luck trying to get your stuff man.
DaleM Jan 18th, 07, 11:57 PM I wonder if he'd be open to mail fraud charges since (I assume) you sent the cashier's check by mail? I'd certainly have questions for the local authorities in NY. It's a shame people do this to car enthusiasts :mad:
1969 Chevelle Dude Jan 19th, 07, 3:35 AM Bad stuff.:mad:
BADCHVL Jan 19th, 07, 9:18 AM That is why i do not like to do business on line. I like to do it face to face. But that is not always possible.
ChaosEnvy Jan 19th, 07, 11:03 AM I do a lot of business on line.. well I do alot of Buying on line.. I have never had any trouble. You just have to be careful, and pay attention to what you are buying and how you are paying for it.
BlackBetty Jan 19th, 07, 11:19 AM I have some items listed in classifieds.....I received at least 7 emails from "Idiots from Africa" that claim they have a "client" willing to buy all my stuff and they want to send me a check for the items in excess of my asking price.....and all I have to do is send them a check for the excess balance back to them.
NiteOwlNY Jan 19th, 07, 11:30 AM the 646 extension in NYC is most likely a cellphone...
His name is John Aviles?
laeady Jan 19th, 07, 6:57 PM He got me as well for $1050, same everything, address, phone number, ups store etc.
ac72rat Jan 20th, 07, 7:42 AM No WAY do you let this slide Track this A-hole down get the police involved somewhere there is a paper trail ,, is this not grand larceny???
dittoz Jan 20th, 07, 3:28 PM Postmaster in NY would be very interested in this. Also, wherever he's renting a box from would have particulars on him to track...
triumph66 Jan 20th, 07, 3:41 PM Well.... I DO handle alot of online transactions. I will tell you one thing. NEVER and I mean NEVER..... deal with ANYONE who uses a gmail.com address. Almost every scam that I have spotted...... the person uses a gmail.com address.
My last piece of advice:
Everyone has an internet connection or they could not sell on line right????? (got to have a provider)
Well... do NOT deal with anyone who has a "generic" e-mail address. (EX: yahoo, gmail, hotmail... the list goes on and on)
IF you MUST deal with these people.... demand to have a REAL address!!! Think of it.... If you have comcast, aol, peoplepc, adelphia... all of these e-mail address are TRACEABLE thru the internet provider. If you get screwed.... you have a link to go thru. That way you can proceed with a way to start a legal proceeding. Whether it be a lawyer, police, Local DA...
If it is legitamite... the seller will understand and gladly give you a 'good' email address!! Hey... if I am about to make a grand..... you CAN contact me at my "comcast.net" at anytime!!!
Just my 2 cents.... I SINCERELY hope that I can help stop anyone from being scammed!!! We work to hard to be ripped off.
I am sure I'll get screweed one day... but I'll learn from my mistakes.
OR... you can oways deal with them the "Balitmore" way........lol
Hope to help...
J early Jan 25th, 07, 1:49 PM Take it from me..even if you have pictures, phone #, e-mail, use cashiers check, send it to a "home address" and even bluff having a buddy come over to look at the goods before purchase...you can still get screwed.
undee70ss Jan 25th, 07, 2:08 PM Well... do NOT deal with anyone who has a "generic" e-mail address. (EX: yahoo, gmail, hotmail... the list goes on and on)
IF you MUST deal with these people.... demand to have a REAL address!!! Think of it.... If you have comcast, aol, peoplepc, adelphia... all of these e-mail address are TRACEABLE thru the internet provider. If you get screwed.... you have a link to go thru.
Aol is now considered a generic e-mail address, because you can get one for free. You don't even have to pay for their service.
J early May 31st, 07, 9:12 AM Just an update...this guy was arrested and charged with numerous counts of mail fraud. He will plead guilty and get 1-2 years or he will plead innocent and be Indicted . The multiple scams involving the mail is what got the postal inspector motivated.
DaleM May 31st, 07, 9:16 AM Justice is always good news; isn't nice to fool with the USPS and mail fraud. Shame is probably nobody scammed will be compensated. :(
Elcoman May 31st, 07, 9:06 PM All right!!! Way to go!!!!
He should get more years though.
| |