: what happened?? LS6 Convert. Survivor
jat70 Dec 12th, 06, 5:47 PM Did anyone happen to see this ad on ebay and know what happened? Last I saw it was at $172K and then it ended early.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=007&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&viewitem=&item=170055709564&rd=1,1
or, if that link doesn't work...
http://tinyurl.com/yfp8mh
furball8994 Dec 12th, 06, 6:03 PM On Nov-30-06 at 04:51:12 PST, seller added the following information:
Snakebite500 was the high bid, But never came through with payment, I am still the same owner that listed it the last time, Yes i also still have that COPO, Yes the same Chevelle Chris White looked at, Thank You Yenko.net for posting this info. I have been a member for sometime
Maybe ol snakebite500 came through after he relisted.
704EVER Dec 12th, 06, 6:28 PM I talked to the guy who bought the car last week, he was going to Conn. this week to pick it up. He told me there were 2 guys interested and he beat their best offers. He told me it cost him 300K to buy it.
jat70 Dec 13th, 06, 1:54 PM Wow!! That's unreal. Thanks for satisfying my curiosity!
PaulRaidna Dec 13th, 06, 2:42 PM Well, actually, I am not sure who Mike is who claims he talked to me. He may have talked to my representative who has been researching the car for me. I am the buyer at $300k, but as of Monday, 12/11, I am backing out of the deal. Based on my correspondence with the seller, he claims to know the selling dealer, etc. on this car. I contacted the selling dealer, who is still in business, during my agreed upon inspection/verification period. The selling dealer has spotty records going back that far and could not verify the car as real. The original owner, if the name provided by the seller is correct, appears to have passed away a few years ago. Therefore, without either of these avenues able to verify the car as real with paperwork, I am exercising my option based on correspondence with the seller to back out of this purchase. I cannot justify paying $300k without being able to verify the car. Chris White and others that have seen the car believe it to be real, but without paperwork proving that, I am unwilling to proceed at this price. I suspect the seller will be placing the ad back on E-bay at some time shortly as he claims he had other interested parties. They may be more successful verifying the authenticity of the car than I was. I am very interested in buying a legitimate LS6 4-speed convertible, but it must be verifiable. Thanks.
PaulRaidna Dec 13th, 06, 2:45 PM Actually, in re-reading Mike's reply that he is from Florida, I stand corrected. I did talk to him, yes, thank you Mike for your help on the phone the other day. I had you confused for a second, my apologies.
When we spoke, my information was that the car could be verified and I did intend on buying it. This changed when I got the information back from the dealer. I have since backed out.
704EVER Dec 13th, 06, 6:23 PM Actually, in re-reading Mike's reply that he is from Florida, I stand corrected. I did talk to him, yes, thank you Mike for your help on the phone the other day. I had you confused for a second, my apologies.
When we spoke, my information was that the car could be verified and I did intend on buying it. This changed when I got the information back from the dealer. I have since backed out.
Hey Paul, sorry to hear things didn't work out, I know you were really optimistic at the time that this car was the real deal with all the paperwork from the original owner. I'm sure you would have done a great resto on this car and know you were really looking forward to it. At least you didn't waste your time and effort looking at the black one down the street from me. Good luck in your search.
PaulRaidna Dec 13th, 06, 6:31 PM Mike,
My sincere appreciation for your help on explaining what you had learned regarding the black one in Florida. I have wanted an LS-6 4 speed convertible for some time, but will have to just keep looking.
Best regards for the holidays and for your help.
Paul
| |