69 Ss? [Archive] - Chevelle Tech

: 69 Ss?


arthuramazing
Aug 27th, 06, 7:06 PM
I have tracked down this 69 SS 396 on ebay?

I don't know the first thing about getting into this. I have been yearing for a muscle car for 15 years now.

I love this car.....

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Chevrolet-Chevelle-RESTORED-SS-1969-CHEVROLET-CHEVELLE-REAL-SS-396-FACTORY-BLACK_W0QQitemZ270020013563QQihZ017QQcategoryZ6164 QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem



Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

macs69
Aug 27th, 06, 7:18 PM
Without crawling around the car, the Malibu eyebrow mouldings stand out as a flag that it's not an SS.

cliffs1970
Aug 27th, 06, 7:20 PM
You have to look at the car and the seller. 5% negative feedback would make me run away.

macs69
Aug 27th, 06, 7:20 PM
Wrong master cylinder. 3 bolt radiator top plate would indicate not SS as well. Looks like a pieced together car. Probably a lot of fun, but I would doubt its pedigree.

Gazzer
Aug 27th, 06, 7:28 PM
You might want to read this thread..

http://www.chevelles.com/forums/showthread.php?t=141962

Garry

arthuramazing
Aug 27th, 06, 7:51 PM
Thanks so much for pointing all of this out! I really am not too concerned about it being an original SS or not. I just think 24k for a 396 chevelle that looks this nice is a good deal. Am I wrong?

69ssmike
Aug 27th, 06, 8:00 PM
No not a bad price, but with all the BS what else is he hiding???

69Silverstreak
Aug 27th, 06, 8:28 PM
You don't say where you are; But I am about 15 minutes from this guy. I could go take a look if you want. Don't really know him but I have sold him a few parts through a friend. He is just a car dealer. Doesn't seem to sweat the details, Seen several of his cars that would look much more correct with just a couple hundred spent on them, But think he just likes to turn them ASAP
Lyle

arthuramazing
Aug 27th, 06, 8:43 PM
Lyle,

That would be great! I live in Omaha Nebraska about 6 hours away. Please feel free to call me or email me 402 597 2579 or amazingarthur@cox.net

Thank you!

69Silverstreak
Aug 27th, 06, 11:06 PM
I will try to get down there tommorrow and give you a call
TTYl;
Lyle

Chris R
Aug 28th, 06, 12:16 AM
You don't say where you are; But I am about 15 minutes from this guy. I could go take a look if you want. Don't really know him but I have sold him a few parts through a friend. He is just a car dealer. Doesn't seem to sweat the details, Seen several of his cars that would look much more correct with just a couple hundred spent on them, But think he just likes to turn them ASAP
Lyle

If he doesnt seem to sweat the details then I wonder what the odds are he himself bought the car thinking it was an SS too? Now he has it in his head its the real thing. Im doubting that though.

slowtalker
Aug 29th, 06, 11:15 AM
Hmm... I wonder if hms racing or joe gibbs racing would be interested in this claim:

"IT HAS BEEN PROFESSIONALLY REBUILT BY A MACHINE SHOP BEACHY MOTOR SPORTS ( BUILDS ENGINES FOR TONY STEWART & JEFF GORDON. "