: Shipping fenders? Isnt this strange?
feedphillipnow Feb 2nd, 04, 1:25 AM Hey guys. I posted a couple adds for my fenders and someone in the UK wants to buy them. He said he was going to mail me a money order for $3000 and deduct what I want for the fenders and use the rest to ship/ frieght them? Doesnt that seem odd? Are these impossible to get in the UK or something? 3 GRAND?DAMN?
70mousejob Feb 2nd, 04, 2:58 AM Sounds like a scam to me, alot of the scams are using uk addresses. Run the name and number through scam checkers. I wouldn't do it even if it isn't in scam checkers.
Best of luck,
feedphillipnow Feb 2nd, 04, 5:08 AM Yeah it doesnt make sence to me. Freaks me out a little, I'll stay away I think :D What is scam checkers? I'll look it up in the meantime.... thanks
feedphillipnow Feb 2nd, 04, 5:26 AM Yeah this guy is insane, it said about scammers using bad grammar also, thinking they wouldnt be smart enough people to run a scam. And he never asked for photos of my stuff! Said he'd mail be $3000 and give most of it to the guy to "ship the fenders" No one is that stupid! Heres a link:
http://icwales.icnetwork.co.uk/0100news/0600uk/content_objectid=13204176_method=full_siteid=50082 _headline=-E-mail-scam-with-bad-grammar-name_page.html
Heres the last mail he Sent, This was from a classified I had ON HERE I had, so if you guys have posts on here as well, watch out! Maybe this guys real, but I doubt it, sounds like some kind of money launder sceme of some sort.
"
From:"classical automobiles" <classicalautomobiles@linuxmail.org>"
Dear Philip,
thanks for your response,i like you to know that my shipper will be
coming for the items and the shipper already know the shipping
cost,because it's adirect delivery to myplace in united kingdom.So,you will be
sending your full contact address and you name in full please to enable
my client to make payment,and send it down to you in sacramento,as you
said.The shipper will be coming for the pick up directly from your
place.
Thanks.......Kelvin.Maxwell"
Texas70 Feb 2nd, 04, 10:09 AM Originally posted by pnutkemist:
Yeah this guy is insane, it said about scammers using bad grammar also, thinking they wouldnt be smart enough people to run a scam. And he never asked for photos of my stuff! Said he'd mail be $3000 and give most of it to the guy to "ship the fenders" No one is that stupid! Heres a link:
http://icwales.icnetwork.co.uk/0100news/0600uk/content_objectid=13204176_method=full_siteid=50082 _headline=-E-mail-scam-with-bad-grammar-name_page.html
Heres the last mail he Sent, This was from a classified I had ON HERE I had, so if you guys have posts on here as well, watch out! Maybe this guys real, but I doubt it, sounds like some kind of money launder sceme of some sort.
"
From:"classical automobiles" <classicalautomobiles@linuxmail.org>"
Dear Philip,
thanks for your response,i like you to know that my shipper will be
coming for the items and the shipper already know the shipping
cost,because it's adirect delivery to myplace in united kingdom.So,you will be
sending your full contact address and you name in full please to enable
my client to make payment,and send it down to you in sacramento,as you
said.The shipper will be coming for the pick up directly from your
place.
Thanks.......Kelvin.Maxwell" It seems this "Kelvin Maxwell" name has popped up here before as a scammer in other posts....correct me if I'm wrong, but that language sounds like the same old Nigerian crap that these scammers attempt to use when communicating with us.
ELLI Feb 2nd, 04, 10:09 AM I can't believe that ther eare people out there who have not heard of this scam yet. :eek: Here is the real deal. He sends you a phoney money order, and then you ship your fenders too him. In about two weeks when the bank figures out that the money order is no good they come after you for 3000 bucks, and then what are you going to do. He has your fenders and you have nothing. Just delete the email from him and move on.
Texas70 Feb 2nd, 04, 10:18 AM Originally posted by ELLI:
I can't believe that there are people out there who have not heard of this scam yet. :eek: Mat,
Apparently, pnutkemist and I are the only ones........ :eek: graemlins/clonk.gif
The scam I am referring to is the one where someone agrees to send you a check for tons more that you were asking, and then you always have to ship it to them overseas somewhere. This type of scam has been discussed at length over in bench racing. I didn't mean to imply that anyone was stupid for not seeing this, I just figured that anyone who spends as much time on this site as pnutkemist does would have seen this already.
Texas70 Feb 2nd, 04, 3:19 PM Just giving you a hard time, no problem. ;)
supersport396_2000 Feb 2nd, 04, 3:26 PM Are we notifying the right people about these scams? Can't someone contact the USPS and file a complaint for mail fraud?
Anthony Feb 2nd, 04, 5:45 PM i got a similar email, he said he wanted my rally rims for sale. i told him i take cash or postal money order. never heard back from him. I had read about this scam in bench racing also. I howe no one loses money on this guy
feedphillipnow Feb 2nd, 04, 6:13 PM Yeah I put this guy on the spot and asked a bunch of questions, he hasnt mailed me back. What a bunch of crap! I didnt hear about these types of scams, but it obviously looked hokey from the start. I think USPS has a fruad complaint system, this probably isnt the guys real name Id imagine.
| |