1969 copo chevelle [Archive] - Chevelle Tech

: 1969 copo chevelle


snook
Aug 2nd, 06, 8:33 PM
hi my grand father pased away and i'm trying to trace a vin number to see if the car is a real copo thanks,walter the vin no3 is 136379b409431

glennslanaker
Aug 2nd, 06, 8:44 PM
hi snook,
i don't think anyone will be able to tell you if it's a COPO or not from the vin. you can tell other things, for example i can tell you it's a V8 car, built in baltimore and it was fairly late production for the model year '69. but information is not out there listing each VIN and what car it corresponds to.

what makes you think it is a COPO? they are pretty rare and you'd have one of the last undiscovered one left on the planet if it was.

snook
Aug 2nd, 06, 8:51 PM
the car is in his barn and has been there for 20 years with a army tarp on it .it is light blue and says yenko on the sides.stwert guages, 4 speed,heavy duity radiaterplease reply

69ssmike
Aug 2nd, 06, 8:56 PM
http://www.copo.com/L72-VIN-Yenko-Chevelle.htm Agreed, not a known one if it is a COPO. More info here http://www.yenko.net/ubbthreads/ubbthreads.php?Cat=

ccarney69
Aug 2nd, 06, 9:00 PM
Do you have any paperwork on this car? Do you have any pictures to post?

Yenko painted on the sides would be a good reason to do some more research on this car and originality.

chris

snook
Aug 2nd, 06, 9:13 PM
i have the build sheetthat is hand written 711 on it and the finder tag has 711 on it too.

HawaiianCamaro
Aug 3rd, 06, 1:40 AM
Whats the engine code listed on the Build sheet?

Also how bout the COWL tag info as well.

DaleM
Aug 3rd, 06, 1:47 AM
i have the build sheetthat is hand written 711 on it and the finder tag has 711 on it too.

Are you sure it's a build sheet that you have and not a trim sheet or Body Broadcast Copy sheet or Chassis Broadcast Copy sheet.

A COPO build sheet looks like this (http://www.chevellestuff.com/69velle/buildsheets/baltimore/bs_copo.jpg). Although this one is for a 68, a Body Broadcast Copy sheet looks like this (http://www.chevellestuff.com/68velle/tags/bal/bs_bal_145517.jpg). A trim card (http://www.chevellestuff.com/69velle/tags/bal/ts_bal_252280.jpg) has an Inspection Sequence Number that matches the last 3 digits of the 6 digit code on the body tag; is that the 711 you're referring to?

Any chance of posting a photo of the paperwork and your trim tag?

Ls6Convertible
Aug 3rd, 06, 2:18 AM
"A COPO build sheet looks like this. Although this one is for a 68, a Body Broadcast Copy sheet looks like this. A trim card has an Inspection Sequence Number that matches the last 3 digits of the 6 digit code on the body tag; is that the 711 you're referring to?".........................................When i try to help a person document/decipher a car I find it best to let the person with THE car tell ME whats on HIS paperwork,seems logical given the current state of this hobby dont you think???

joe58
Aug 3rd, 06, 5:07 AM
Is this car in New Jersey?

Bill Rose
Aug 3rd, 06, 12:26 PM
This car is on Ebay now!
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Chevrolet-Chevelle-1969-CHEVELLE-COPO-SS-WITH-ORIG-BUILD-SHEET_W0QQitemZ130011446371QQihZ003QQcategoryZ6164 QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

704EVER
Aug 3rd, 06, 12:46 PM
So much for the GRANDFATHER story.

mmurphy77
Aug 3rd, 06, 1:03 PM
What does "711" written on the build sheet denote?

bc69ss
Aug 3rd, 06, 1:04 PM
Has anybody looked at this car to see if it's legit? I don't know that much about the yenko chevelles and information on the web is limited to things that they didn't point out on ebay. I did notice that the build sheet has 396 for the motor. Did they put 427 on the build sheet or was this installed by yenko?
Thanks for any info

COPO
Aug 3rd, 06, 1:05 PM
Why is there a blue white striped Camaro in the Ebay ad?

proform
Aug 3rd, 06, 1:06 PM
Why is there a blue white striped Camaro in the Ebay ad?

The e-bayer added a note saying it was for sale/trade also.

bc69ss
Aug 3rd, 06, 1:19 PM
http://www.copo.com/L72-VIN-Yenko-Chevelle.htm
The above site has 78 of the 99 vin #'s listed and this car isn't on the list.
I don't know the accuracy of this lead though....

proform
Aug 3rd, 06, 1:25 PM
OK, his ad states it's a COPO. What proof, if any, does the e-bayer have that this would actually support it being a COPO. It states it's repainted, so the Yenco stripes obviously are not original.

Ls6Convertible
Aug 3rd, 06, 1:57 PM
"Has anybody looked at this car to see if it's legit?"................No need to look at it,its not a copo. Based on the current bid price,someone must think it could be a copo.20K is major money for a car needing resto and is a lo po 396 car

mr70
Aug 3rd, 06, 1:57 PM
According to the buildsheets' reminant information he is showing,I see that as a 1969 Super Sport Chevelle w/L-34 396/350HP engine,(Possibly L-35 396/325HP),& M-20 wide ratio Trans.w/3:55 Open rearend & no gauges.
The "711" handwritten notation is typical of Baltimore built 69 A-bodies.It's actually the last 3 digits of internal tracking code,noted on the last line of the Cowl tag,and also used as the Data Processing Seq.No.
Nothing "COPO" or "Yenko" about it.

Bill Rose
Aug 3rd, 06, 1:59 PM
the car is in his barn and has been there for 20 years with a army tarp on it .it is light blue and says yenko on the sides.stwert guages, 4 speed,heavy duity radiaterplease reply
This is a scam! He makes it sound like he's a teenager, and he found this car in his late grandfather's barn and he doesn't know why it says Yenko on the side. He has 97 sales/purchases on his ebay account. He's been at this a long time. This is a perfect example of why we have to be so careful trusting anybody we don't know.http://bestsmileys.com/signs1/3.gif

Wwalstrom
Aug 3rd, 06, 3:02 PM
Hmmm ... could, possibly ... (gasp) Snook = BAIN????
I appoligize for the foul four-letter word.

DaleM
Aug 3rd, 06, 4:25 PM
I wrote the seller (using a completely different name and email than I use here) and asked if the car was his grandfather's. His reply...


no,I got it from a freind of mine, has been in his grandparents barn over 15 years, I never noed he even had this car until we were talking abought a 68 ss that I sold abought 4 months ago, he spoke up and said I got a 69 in grandma's barn!,(he said it's odd, it has 4:10 rear,close ratio trans, years ago I could take off in second then skip to fourth and go on down the road.)so I traded him out of it

Are these two the same person? The ebay seller's email is an AOL account and the email account here is listed as a 'verison.net' which should probably be 'verizon.net' but who knows? I have multiple email accounts myself on 3 domains with different user names.

Maybe it's two different people and 'snook' thinks he got snookered. Maybe it's the same guy because the question asked here and the one he answered from eBay have spelling errors. Maybe there are two friends in the same area that are spelling and grammatically challenged.

The sale was listed some time ago, he made an addition on July 28. The question was asked here yesterday evening. Would the same person have an auction going for almost a week and then come here to try and get some verification using two different stories but the same circumstances?

I think everyone here agrees it's not a COPO or Yenko but possibly an SS Chevelle that needs a lot of work and someone's willing to pay $20k for the privilege of doing so.

Doug Garland
Aug 3rd, 06, 7:04 PM
That stripe doesn't look right , if you ask me. Something odd about it, and the lettering looks too large.

von
Aug 3rd, 06, 7:55 PM
"Douglas, is that you?":D

Chris R
Aug 4th, 06, 1:26 AM
Considering the fast one he pulled on us. Im sure he got someone to shill bid on it too.:sad:

Doug Garland
Aug 6th, 06, 2:07 PM
"Douglas, is that you?":D


It's me Von!

david_396
Aug 6th, 06, 2:29 PM
Why is there a blue white striped Camaro in the Ebay ad?
"WILL CONSIDER PARTIAL TRADE OR EQUAL TRADE, I ALSO HAVE 1972 TRUE (Z-27) SS CAMARO WITH 500HP ALLUM.HEAD ENGINE SALE OR TRADE"