Team Chevelle banner

Looking for a Chevelle...

1K views 11 replies 9 participants last post by  blm 
#1 ·
Hello.
I've recently been looking for a '66 or '67 Chevelle. I'm not concerned with numbers matching, whether or not an SS, has correct seats, is a true 4 speed, etc. I just want a Chevelle.
I like the '67 as more of a preference but would have no issue with a '66. It won't be a show car, I'll drive it more than just on really nice days and it will get some highway time as well. A/C might be a must as it's awful hot here (OKC) in the summer. With that info, the caveats are, I have no bodywork experience (not much car rebuilding experience overall either) but plan on doing the bodywork and pretty much all of it myself - with some help of course. I may go with an outside service for paint.

With that brief intro to what I plan on doing, I ran across a couple cars within my driving range, just looking for some input as to whether either would be a decent start. My budget is not high so these are more like my price range, but I can drop (sink) money into it periodically and will plan on doing that.

Chevelle
I actually looked at this one, and the body looks pretty decent to my eyes, a little wavy in the left rear quarter along with rust at the bottom of the driver's side door and driver's side fender. Full quarters for both sides come with the car. Looks like enough metal to work with around the windshield and back glass, not completely gone. Dash is solid, not cut up but no dash bezel, gauges or anything for the interior, floors need replaced, same for trunk. Some grill pieces and headlight bezels come with it as well, decent shape. Nothing under the hood, everything is gone. Brand new wiring harness as advertised. The fiberglass hood comes with the car, as well as the rally wheels (minus one beauty ring). I like the rally's.

1967 Chevelle