Dial back timing light - how do I use it. - Chevelle Tech
2002 General Tech questions from 2002

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old Feb 9th, 02, 2:38 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team

I have everything hooked up and ready for use. How do you use the timing light dial back feature? How do I get total timing with a a stock 350ci 250 hp with a 4 barrel carb, HEI distr, with an auto tranny? What would be good for what I have? What do I add to get total timing and how do I achieve in getting it? I have my initial set at 8 degrees. I do have weights and springs if needed.
Thanks,
Stan
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old Feb 9th, 02, 3:21 PM
Lifetime Premium Member
Tony

A dial back light delays the strobe light in the amount of the # of degrees on the dial. With a conventional light, in order to check total timing, you'd disconnect the vacuum advance, rev the motor to 3000rpm (that's usually fast enough to ensure the distributor timing is maxed out), and you'd pull the trigger to check timing. Chances are your timing mark is way beyond the 12 degrees or so of your timing "tab" (the degree marker mounted to the front cover). Now, with a dial-back light, and the engine at 3000rpm, turn the dial clockwise and you'll see the timing mark on the balancer "retard" and move closer and closer to the 0-degree mark on the timing tab. Keep turning the dial until the timing mark lines up with the 0-degree mark, check to see how many degrees you've dialed in on the light, and that's your total timing. Easy!

------------------
Tony Nausieda
1970 SS 396-4??hp
1977 Caprice, no dingle balls or hydraulics
1966 Buick GS 4-sp vert
1965 Le Mans EFI'd 468, 4-sp
1639 total cubic inches
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old Feb 9th, 02, 3:41 PM
Tech Team
Bob